Skip to content

Fingers Crossed and an Easy Ravioli Lasagna

November 2, 2009

Bloggies!! It has been too long.  I feel like I’ve been M.I.A!

You may have noticed I haven’t been commenting on my workouts lately.  There was a reason for that, I took last week off! I was feeling overtrained, overwhelmed and uninspired. So I took a week off from working out, and I also took a week off from counting calories.  The effect on my weight? I easily maintained.  Even though I was snacking more than I had been, I didn’t go too overboard.  But by the end of the week I was READY for some workouts.  I love being active, I love the endorphins, I love the release!  So Saturday I was back at it…did a 4 mile run and then Sunday I hit the gym for a 45 minute workout on the stepmill.  Today I hit it hard with my trainer.

We did some good, hard circuits.

TRAINING STATS

50 minutes

495 calories

152 average HR

182 high HR

I feel good!

I made a great and easy recipe for dinner on Friday night I wanted to share with you all in blogland.  I was craving some Italian food, and something quick and easy.  I had a bag of frozen meat raviolis and some cottage cheese and my idea was born!

Courtney’s Easy Ravioli Lasagna

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

1 bag of meat ravioli (you can use whatever type of ravioli you prefer)

1 jar of crushed tomato (I added crushed red pepper, salt, and pepper to this)

2 cups cottage cheese

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Cheese for topping (I had 3 leftover slices of hot pepper cheese but any could be used)

I used my small food processor to whip together the cottage cheese and parmesan to create a smooth and creamy cheese filling.

 

100_2663  100_2665

 

Then I layered the bottom of a dish with a layer of ravioli and half the cottage cheese mixture.

100_2666  100_2667

Over this went about half the jar of sauce.  You can use any prepared tomato sauce or your own version. Then another layer of ravioli, cheese and sauce.

100_2668  100_2669

The final product I topped with a few slices of hot pepper cheese I had, you could use shredded cheese or whatever you have on hand.

100_2670  100_2671

I cooked this in the 375 degree oven for about 45 minutes or until bubbly and hot.  It was a really quick and hearty meal that could be adapted for any tastes!

JOB INTERVIEW

I had a second interview this morning for the job I’m really hoping to get.  The first interview was with the fitness manager last week, today’s interview was a “peer interview” with 2 fitness floor people I would be working with.  It seemed to go great, and I hope to hear something in the next few days.  Cross fingers and toes for me ok!?

NOVEMBER

I have some big ideas for November/December to prep myself for the holidays and to keep reaching towards my goals.  Check back tomorrow as I lay out my plan for November and my upcoming exciting workouts and food plans.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 8:38 pm

    good luck on the interview! I’m glad you were able to take the week off..sometimes its just what the doctor ordered!!

  2. November 2, 2009 8:46 pm

    My fingers are crossed for the job! 🙂

  3. November 3, 2009 1:29 pm

    My fingers and toes are officially crossed…but try to hurry because it makes it hard to run when my toes are crossed. : )

Leave a Reply

