Skip to content

Courtney’s Creamy Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Treats

October 27, 2009

Wow, I think I made my best recipe yet this morning! My kitchen smells great and my belly is happy right now.

First off, I am having one of those days where I drop everything! I dropped a small container full of coffee grounds, dropped an egg, and then this happened while making my Super Immunity Soup:

100_2655

I will be finding and cleaning up little splotches of Super Immunity Soup for weeks! At least my dogs got some greens in.  LOL

I used all the usual ingredients for my soup except this time I used about 3/4 a bag of frozen spinach, and used up about 1/4 of a large container of Sabra hummus.

100_2652   100_2654

Any excuse I get to use one of my big red pots makes me happy!

100_2653

Then I got going on my inspiration for the day…I knew I wanted to make something pumpkin, and fat free cream cheese is my secret ingredient!  Each serving has 133 calories, 4.4 grams of fat, and 38% of your daily vitamin A.  Pretty good for a treat!

Courtney’s Creamy Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Treats

22 servings (one large loaf and 7 muffins..could also be made into 24 muffins or 2 medium loaves)

Preheat oven to 350 and grease the pans

First group of ingredients:

4 ozs softened fat free cream cheese

1 ripe banana

1/4 cup fat free greek yogurt (or regular yogurt)

1/4 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

2 tbsp pumpkin butter

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup pumpkin

Using a stand mixer or an electric beater, mix all ingredient one group together until smooth.

100_2648  100_2646

Second group of ingredients:

1 1/2 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg to taste

Mix all of group two ingredients together in a separate bowl:

100_2647

Add the group 2 ingredients 1/3 at a time to the wet ingredients, mixing thoroughly each time you add the dry ingredients.

Third group of ingredients:

1/2 cup raisins (optional)

1/2 cup chocolate chips

100_2649

Add the third group of ingredients to the mix and combine thoroughly.  Pour into a greased loaf pan and muffin pans. 

100_2650  100_2651

Bake muffins approximately 30-40 minutes and loaves for approximately 60 minutes.

OMG!! I sampled one of the muffins and it was soft, had a little chew, had a great texture and melty bits of chocolate chips.  The flavors combined together to create one of the best muffins I have ever made.

Hope you sample these delicious treats soon!

100_2656  100_2657

3 Comments leave one →
  1. DiningAndDishing permalink
    October 27, 2009 5:19 pm

    Ohh I don’t think I’ve combined chocolate with pumpkin before. What a fab idea! Chocolate and anyyything is always amazing :O).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. October 27, 2009 11:28 pm

    Holy yum, that sounds good! I’ll have to give those a try with my family, they love pumpkin stuff.

  3. October 28, 2009 2:12 pm

    Ewww I hate days like that! Luckily these treats look awesome, YUM!

Leave a Reply

