Skip to content

Goat Cheese Stuffed Turkey Meatballs 2 Ways (and a raccoon!)

October 26, 2009

Weekend wrap up!

Hey bloggies, how is everyone? Hope you had a great weekend filled with some tasty eats and exercise.

I decided on Friday night to make some turkey meatballs with some ground turkey hanging out in my fridge and make them a little more special by stuffing them with some goat cheese.

To make 15 meatballs I used:

1 lb lean ground turkey

1/4 cup oatmeal (use breadcrumbs if you prefer)

1 egg

assorted spices: crushed red pepper, salt, pepper, steak seasoning, garlic powder

3 ounces goat cheese

Mixed everything but goat cheese by hand in a bowl and then formed meatballs around the hunks of goat cheese. Simple, easy and delicious.

Put on a cookie sheet and baked for approximately 20 minutes in a 425 degree oven.

I also roasted some asparagus with olive oil, garlic powder, salt and pepper.

100_2608  100_2609

100_2610  100_2612

My hubby made himself up a salad that included lettuce, goat cheese, shredded cheese and ranch.  He asked if I was going to include a pic on the blog.  Sure!

100_2614 Sassy but it looks tasty!!

I also made some mac and cheese that was not pictured.  Friday night dinner was delicious!

100_2615

We hung out, watched a few episodes of Mad Men to get caught up when we heard a rumbling on the deck.  We knew it had to be our foe! We came running up the stairs and looked out on the deck…look who we saw!  Mind you, this raccoon is hanging off the back of our deck that is about 20 feet up in the air.  He didn’t get anything and scampered away.  That was our exciting Friday night!

100_2603 Click on the picture to see the sassy raccoon!

 

Goat Cheese Stuffed Turkey Meatballs Take Two

On Sunday during football I decided to make up a tasty dinner for the two of us using the leftover turkey meatballs.

First I cut up a few small white potatoes, tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper and put on my pizza stone in a 425 degree oven.

100_2618

I then cut open 3 soft sandwich rolls and spread each one very thinly with butter and sprinkled with garlic powder.

100_2619

I started some olive oil, garlic, and crushed red pepper flakes in pot and added a can of crushed tomato, tomato paste and the leftover meatballs.  I put all of this to simmer with the lid on as the fries cooked.

100_2620  100_2621

100_2622 Ooops, some bubbled over. 

 

While all of this cooked I did a little multitasking and made my hubby’s sandwich for Monday:

100_2623

And portioned out and put away some pork chops I picked up at the store on Sunday:

100_2624   100_2625

At this point I put the buttered rolls in the oven with the fries to toast up and sanitized all the counters and sinks.

I pulled out the toasted buns and spread some sauce on each bun, then put 3 meatballs on each.

100_2627  100_2628

Then I put some hot pepper cheese on each sandwich and put them back in the oven to get melty as I pulled out the oven fries.

100_2629  100_2630

YUM!

100_2631

I ate about 3/4 of a sandwich and gave the rest to my hubby.  He enjoyed his sandwich as well.  My bro had done me a favor earlier in the day and was on duty last night, so I wrapped up the last sandwich while it was still hot and delivered it to him…he was happy!

100_2633

If you made it all the way through that post I’m glad you are still here! I have 2 interviews today so I have to get going.  I hope to get a quick workout in this morning and then get dressed in my best business duds and head out.

Wish me luck…I’ll report back later!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 3:19 pm

    Looks awesome, Courtney! Have been looking for good recipes to utilize the great goat cheese from the local market here. Thanks!

  2. Molly permalink
    October 26, 2009 4:00 pm

    can you please make me those meatball sandwiches sometime – my God – I am salivating!!

  3. October 26, 2009 4:29 pm

    Omg that looks amazing and I am obsessed with Goat Cheese right now–can’t wait to try this! 🙂

  4. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    October 26, 2009 4:39 pm

    Good luck on your interviews!

    I made T turkey meatball subs yesterday too – we must have had ESP 😉

  5. November 22, 2009 8:07 pm

    Wow, great web site you have here. I found your site while looking for another one on Google. I don’t have time to read everything right now, but I have bookmarked your site and will come back very soon to see your latest updates. I love reading about cooking, it is my favorite past-time. The recipes on your site are incredible. I can’t wait to try them out on my family. They think I’m crazy (and maybe they are right lol) when they see me at work in the kitchen. Click here if you’d like to check out my site. Thank you again for a very educational site. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

