Skip to content

Cranky Courtney

October 22, 2009

Dear Cranky Courtney-

Stop being so hard on yourself!!!!

Love,

Not quite as Cranky Courtney

 

Ever have one of those weeks when you just feel BLAH and OUT OF IT and don’t have anything nice to say to yourself? I am having one of those weeks…I have been trying to bust out of it with exercise, sleep, snuggling with dogs.  Not much is helping, but sometimes you need to take a second and wallow.  I did that, and actually feel better now.  MOVING ON!

I’m stuck at a plateau right now with my weight and my trainer and I decided I probably am not eating enough calories.  That’s right people…eating too few calories can sabotage your efforts to lose weight.  I’m burning a lot of calories through exercise, not to mention just through being alive. I need to eat enough to fuel my body so it doesn’t go into starvation mode and hold onto every calorie it does get. As a certified personal trainer you would think I would know better than to make such a rookie mistake, but you get in habit and/or rut and even someone who should know better can get stuck.

So…I am upping my calorie intake a little the next week or so and I’m also going to be tracking my food.  I need to make sure I’m adding extra GOOD calories in the forms of veggies, healthy fats and whole grains. Adding in extra calories doesn’t mean extra treats and unhealthy snacks.

I will be using SparkPeople.com to track my food and calories again, I currently just use it to track my exercise.  The reason I love Spark People is the huge database of foods they already have, you don’t have to enter a lot of info because most of it is there.

Today I did a home workout on the treadmill but forgot to record my heart rate stats.  I did a combo of running and walking intervals with some hill intervals mixed in.

Stats:

50 minutes

3.65 miles

444 calories

Then I went to my trainer’s studio and repeated the butt-kicking workout from Monday. It was really hard but I improved my time and I also was able to do some extra abs sets today (oh goody HA)

Stats:

46 minutes

475 calories

158 average HR

178 high HR

I burned 520 calories on Monday and had a max HR of 183…such a difference between the 2 days…I guess I am improving more quickly than I think.

Ok bloggies….I hope you all take this opportunity to take it easy on yourself today!

I’m off to come up with a tasty dinner for the hubby…check back tomorrow to see what I come up with!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 8:45 pm

    Eat chocolate every day….or indulge in a favorite forbidden food to satisfy your cravings. Treat yourself and take care of your inner child!

  2. October 22, 2009 9:00 pm

    Holy cow girl you are working out so hard and buring so many calories! I think you are smart to up your intake, your body needs to be fueled, you’re so awesome for taking action and not letting it hold you back!! keep it up!

Leave a Reply

