Skip to content

Carb Cycling

October 22, 2009

Good morning bloggies!

It is a rainy, dreary day here in Illinois.  I was planning a run outside before I went to my trainer’s studio for a session this afternoon, but looks like I will be hitting the treadmill instead.

I got my new Oxygen magazine the other day and there was a very interesting article in it about carb cycling.  Carb cycling has been used by bodybuilders and fitness competitors for a long time.  There was a plan for the regular person in the magazine.

The basic plan is 1 day low carbs, 1 day moderate carbs, 1 day high carbs and then repeat the 3 day cycle.  The low carb day consists of protein, lots of veggies, and healthy fats.  The high carb day allows you to incorporate complex carbs such as a sweet potatoes, brown rice or oatmeal.

I am very intrigued by the carb cycling plan as I think this is something that would work very well for me and help me break through this mini plateau I’m in right now.

Anyone out there have any experience with carb cycling? Please let me know your thoughts!

I was hanging out at the kitchen table the other day, admiring my pretty fall centerpiece I have when I noticed something odd about it. Something that didn’t quite fit.

100_2601

Let’s take a closer look shall we?

100_2602

A Sam Adams beer bottle cap? HMMMM I wonder how that got in there?!?!?

Hope you all have a great Thursday…it is almost the weekend!! With this rainy, dreary day it can’t come fast enough.  Everyone in my house is being lazy and sleepy right now including Penny the pig.

100_2600

And of course Prince and Georgie:

100_2598     100_2599

Later!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 4:30 pm

    Beautiful autumn arrangement! You have the touch!

  2. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    October 22, 2009 7:19 pm

    I’ve never tried carb cycling, but have read lots of articles about its effectiveness…It may help you bust out of your plateau!

    I’m too much of a carboholic to have a “low carb” day 😉

Leave a Reply

