Skip to content

Salad Spinner

October 20, 2009

First off, the official numbers were posted for my Trick or Treat Trot 5k from Sunday.  My official time was 32:40.  I was 5th out 6 in my age group.  I was 131 out of 181 overall.  I obviously want to continue to improve my time as I move forward, it gives me a good goal to work for.

Yesterday I had a busy day! I partially cleaned the house in the morning and emptied and reloaded all the usual machines (dishwasher, washer, dryer).  Seems never ending and we only have 2 humans in this house!!

I did a quick workout on my treadmill to squeeze in some cardio.  SO BORING on the treadmill so I did a “30 second workout.”  No, I have not found the secret to getting fit in 30 seconds..I change the speed or the incline basically every 30 seconds.  I would jog at a steady state for 1 minute, then put the speed up every 30 seconds until I was sprinting, then recovered for a minute.  I was able to do get a great workout this way in a quick amount of time.

Stats:

33 minutes

2.5 miles

339 calories

158 average HR

198 high HR (sprints!)

Then I headed over for a workout with my trainer.  We did some super hard circuits that kicked my butt! Everything from reverse lunges with a hammer curl, to burpees, to renegade rows with a pushup.  I think I actually strained a chest muscle because it is very sore right now, going to take some Advil and baby it today a little, it hurts!

Stats:

46 minutes

520 calories (wowwweee!)

166 average HR

183 high HR

I hit the grocery store after this workout and then came home to make myself an afternoon treat, my own homemade Earl Grey latte.  I have been loving the London Fog from Starbucks which is basically a Earl Grey latte with a little vanilla syrup. I don’t really miss the syrup so I made a hot cup of tea and then used my little handheld foamer on a bit of milk I heated in the microwave and had some delicious foam!

100_2564  100_2566

100_2563  100_2565

Yum!

For dinner I made an asparagus wrap.  I turned the oven to 350 and lined a baking pan with foil. I cut the ends of some asparagus and put them on the baking sheet and sprinkled a little olive oil, sea salt, cracked pepper and garlic powder over the top. This is my massive bag of asparagus from CostCo I need to get on using!

100_2567  100_2568

100_2569

While the asparagus was cooking, I prepped the huge head of romaine lettuce I picked up.  First I pulled apart all the leaves, then I cut it up into bite size chunks and put it in the salad spinner colander.  Does anyone else have a salad spinner? I love it! Makes salad prep so easy and it is fun to use.  I cleaned off the lettuce in the sink and then put the colander in the spinner and pull the string to dry it off! So fun!

100_2570  100_2571

100_2572  100_2574

When there was only a few minutes left on the asparagus, I took out a tortilla and sprinkled some goat cheese on it and slipped it in the oven and pulled together the rest of my dinner.  Vanilla Greek Yogurt, half a Kashi pumpkin spice flax bar crushed up and some pumpkin butter!

100_2575  100_2576

I cooked the asparagus for a total of about 20 minutes at 350, next time I would leave it in a few minutes longer.

I wrapped up about 6 spears in the melty goat cheese tortilla for a delish dinner! I saved the rest of the asparagus for a later meal.

100_2577  100_2578

All in all a tasty and light supper! I didn’t have much of an appetite yesterday..I’m sure that will change today.

See you later bloggies!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 3:32 pm

    Mmmmm dinner looks great–I never though to put asparagus in a wrap. And I have that salad spinner, I LOVE it!!!!

  2. October 20, 2009 4:56 pm

    Yum! That looks like a fantastic dinner. I’ll definitely be trying that sometime. And I love my salad spinner, too.

    Torani makes a good sugar-free vanilla syrup, if you get a hankering for the vanilla syrup part. (I was scouring our work breakroom for a vanilla tea bag to put in with an Earl Grey tea bag, so I could try this amazing drink, but no such luck. Guess I’ll just have to hit up The ‘Bucks.)

    I’m with you on treadmill boredom. Heavens, it’s boring. I didn’t mind it so much when I was only running for 15 minutes at a time, as a brick after spin class. But now that I’m having to do all my runs at the gym, ugh. I usually run without music, or just with the gym’s ambient background stuff, but this last I brought my own music and that seemed to help. I also found it more motivating to run faster when I planned a workout for a particular distance vs. a duration, because at my jog pace, it was taking a looong time to get to 3.14 miles.

  3. October 20, 2009 5:16 pm

    My H has one of those milk foaming things and loves, loves, loves it. I think he is actually on his third one now…he wore the other two out. : ) Theyare aweosme for making foamy drinks!

Leave a Reply

