Skip to content

CERTIFIED PERSONAL TRAINER!

October 10, 2009

Well hello there bloggies! I have some BIG news for all of you. 

Many of you know that I have been studying for my ACE personal training certification exam.  After the company I was VP of Human Resources at was closed in February 2009, I have been trying to find my place in the world.  I tried to start my own business, but it was not the right time.

I didn’t know what to do.  I thought about my life, what I enjoyed, who I admired, where I wanted to be.  Here was my chance to start over.  There were times I’ve wanted to start over, but didn’t think I could take the pay cut or have the guts.  Well, what better time than now since I was unemployed and had nothing to lose!

I decided to pursue my ACE personal training certification.  I am not in the perfect shape.  I don’t have the perfect diet or exercise plan.  But I believe in the power of healthy living, I believe in the power that exercise has to keep you healthy and sane.  I think the fact that I been at a point in my life where I didn’t work out and didn’t eat healthy makes me a trainer that will be able to emphasize with the average person starting out on a plan.  I can also relate to someone who has progressed and now needs an extra push to go that extra mile.  I work out a lot, I enjoy it and I have some new goals in the back of my head now that I have succeeded in conquering the sprint triathlon I was training for (that is for another post).

Today was the big day, the day I have been studying for since March 2009.  The course is home course, self directed study.  I had to make myself sit down with the textbook, workbooks, flashcards, and audio cd’s every day and learn and study.  You think it is hard to go back to school when you have been out for a while, try and do self directed study! I was an English major in college…some of the knowledge was completely new to me.

Then came today.

100_2363

The test was at 9 AM, I was up around 6 AM.  It was hard to get out of bed, especially since it was only 60 degrees in the house!

100_2361

I stared the day as usual, with coffee (in another christmas mug hee hee) and the newspaper.

100_2364  100_2365

 

I heated up the rest of the leftover roasted potato, sweet potato, onion mix from my Perfect Autumn Dinner.

100_2359

Topped it with one over easy egg for some protein:

100_2360

My hubby took a picture of a very nervous me with my supplies.  Of course I couldn’t keep my eyes open for the life of me!

100_2366

Away we went!  The test was VERY hard, there were 150 multiple choice questions covering a variety of topics and a simulation portion where you get 2 clients and some scenarios and have to correctly select what procedures/programs you would advise.  The test was computer based at community college on the north side of Chicago.

100_2370     See in the middle: Congrats! You passed the test!

 

YAY!!!!!!  All my hard work and studying had paid off.  I passed the test!

100_2368 I give that the thumbs up!

 

What’s next for me? I have a few things up my sleeve.  I currently train 2 clients and hope to add more.  I have a few other things I’m working on as well, and some long term goals of my own.

Thanks for everyone who gave me so much support and believed I could do it!

How am I celebrating? Well, like a big nerd, I’m heading off to the gym! Then my hubby and I are going to get dressed up and go out for a nice dinner…we have not done that in too long.

Hope you all have a great weekend…..see you on Monday for the weekend recap and the next phase!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. traynharder23 permalink
    October 10, 2009 8:11 pm

    congrats! yay personal trainers! (i’m nsca cert’d.)

  2. October 10, 2009 10:31 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS! Wow, great job! I’m impressed with your bravery to try something new. Good job going after your dreams. 🙂

  3. October 11, 2009 12:53 pm

    Congratulations to you Courtney. Pass on your knowledge and fortitude and joy to those around you….your joie de vivre spirit will inspire others to maintain their health and be motivated to make changes toward a better future. We love you, Mom and Dad

  4. Laura permalink
    October 12, 2009 12:39 pm

    CONGRATS Courtney! I’m so happy for you! 🙂

  5. October 12, 2009 8:17 pm

    Great job on that test!

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Wrap Up « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

