Skip to content

Perfect Autumn Dinner

October 8, 2009

So last night I finally had a free night, it has been so crazy with studying and training and clients and hubs working late.  I decided it was time for a tasty and healthy dinner.

I started with my super bargain porkchops from the other day (click HERE if you missed it).

I put in a baking dish and rubbed on just a little bit of this BBQ sauce.  I don’t like a super BBQ flavor, and there is quite a bit of sugar in BBQ sauce.  A little can go a long way to add flavor!

100_2320   100_2321

 

Then I got to work on my veggie pan. 

100_2316

One sweet potato and one onion for me, one medium and one small white potato for the hubs.  All the veg got cut up and tossed with some olive oil, crushed black pepper and salt.  I kept the onion FAR away from the white potato as my hubs doesn’t like onion at all!

100_2317

All of this went in a 375 degree oven for approx. 1 hour.

I prepared my apple crisp in the meantime.

COURTNEY’S APPLE OATMEAL CRISP

3 medium apples (I used macintosh)

1/4 cup flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 cup oatmeal

cinnamon and nutmeg to taste

3 tablespoons butter

I cut up the apples and tossed them in a pie pan with the cinnamon and nutmeg.

100_2324  100_2326

 

In a smaller bowl I mixed the oatmeal, flour, and brown sugar and poured it over the top of the apples.  Then I melted the butter and poured it over the top of the crisp.

100_2327  100_2328

Halfway through the hour of cook time for the porkchops and veggies I slid the apple crisp in.  It will cook in the 375 degree oven for an hour.

Let’s plate it up! I decided I needed something green too at the last minute, so I cooked up some peas.

My plate with sweet potatoes/onions on the left, boys on the right:

100_2331   100_2329

And then the crisp! I topped mine with…what else…some greek yogurt! Vanilla of course!

100_2332  100_2334

Dinner was great, and my hubs and I enjoyed a nice dinner together, got caught up on our days and were able to relax.

See you later bloggies!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2009 1:45 pm

    YUM!

  2. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    October 8, 2009 4:31 pm

    Um, can I come over for dinner?!? LOL! Looks delicious 🙂

  3. DiningAndDishing permalink
    October 8, 2009 7:17 pm

    haha, I think you need to come to my house and cook for me! you are quite the chef!! it all looks delish :O)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 8, 2009 9:18 pm

      I LOVE to cook for others! It makes me happy!!! :>

  4. October 8, 2009 8:28 pm

    OMG, YUM!

  5. October 8, 2009 10:46 pm

    That meal looks incredible. 🙂 I might steal your apple crisp recipe.

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 8, 2009 10:54 pm

      Have at it! I would actually have used 4 or 5 apples instead of 3…the apples kind of melt down into a nice appley goo, so I should have used more. Enjoy!!!

Trackbacks

  1. CERTIFIED PERSONAL TRAINER! « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

