Skip to content

My First Spin Class

October 7, 2009

Hello blogland!

I went on a little adventure today…my very first spin class.  I’ve heard people raving about these classes for years, and I have never been.  But after all the bike training I’ve been doing for my triathlon and with the super challenging bike course on the triathlon trail, I decided a little spin class might be fun.

I showed up to class early and told the instructor I was a newbie.  She was super nice and helped me adjust my bike and get ready.  She told me a little of what to expect and said that her average class had people riding between 17 and 22 miles.  I figured I could handle that in 60 minutes.

Class started and the music was pumping! She turned off the lights and there was a video player showing Tour de France footage up on the wall.  It was fun!  We went through some flat areas, did some climbs, did some super hilly parts (this is where you put the gear way up).  We climbed out of the saddle.  My favorite was when Bon Jovi’s “Living on a Prayer” came on.

You all know how I love to sing along with my workouts!!  But I sang to myself under my breath..that song had a lot of hill climbs out of the saddle and I caught myself smiling during it…spin class was fun!

AND SWEATY!! I was a sweaty monster by the time it was done and we stretched.  I will be back for sure!

TRAINING STATS

19 miles

56 minutes

484 calories

144 average HR

178 high HR

I came home and immediately made myself a small bowl of Oikos vanilla fat free yogurt with half a crumbled Kashi pumpkin spice flax bar in it for my sweaty recovery snack.

100_2315

Seriously…can you all stand how GLAMOROUS I am??

I found dogs scattered about napping in my house.

100_2308

He sat up and said, “Mom, look at my freakishly long legs”

100_2301

Who does she think she is? She lays her little heady on the pillow like a person ALL THE TIME.  Good thing this is the hubby’s pillow!!! (hee hee)

100_2309

Here is a quick shot of my spoooooooky punkin collection I’m putting out later…seriously, how creepy is that ceramic pumpkin face!!!!!

100_2306   100_2307

Some pretty Indian corn, a few orange candle holders, a melter thingy, and it looks a little more like fall in here!

100_2303  100_2304  100_2305

I need a new camera..these pics are NOT cutting it!

Ok bloggies, I will be back tomorrow with my pork chops, roasted potatoes and baked apples because I gotta walk these puppies and then feed my hubby when he gets home and then watch GLEE!!!!!!!!!!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Rita permalink
    October 7, 2009 8:34 pm

    i love your fall decorations…do you have cinnamon candles around the house? I also love the pumpkin air freshners…

  2. courtlove111 permalink*
    October 7, 2009 9:05 pm

    You bet, all the candles are pumpkin or spicy smells. That aroma melter I have is a ginger spice…it fills the whole room up. I also have a spicy raisin candle (weird name) but it smells like a fresh baked pumpkin muffin!

  3. October 8, 2009 12:10 am

    Yay, I’m so glad you liked Spin class! 🙂 That’s awesome that they had video of Tour De France up–we don’t have anything like that!

  4. October 8, 2009 1:12 am

    I love spinning too. We don’t have the videos in my class though, just the dark and the music. The video sounds awesome! Our classes are only 45 minutes too, I wish they were longer.

  5. October 8, 2009 3:03 am

    I don’t do a ton of spinning, but I have always enjoyed it when I do go to classes. They are HARD and intense, though! I’m always very sore the day after, so beware!
    Have a great night!

  6. October 8, 2009 3:26 pm

    Awesome! Sounds like a great glass…and a great recovery snack!!! 🙂 love all your decorations!!

  7. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    October 8, 2009 4:39 pm

    Your pumpkin looks like Shrek! hehe

    Glad you enjoyed the spin class…whenever I can get to my gym on time, I try to take a class…and I sweat like a total beast!! 😀

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 8, 2009 9:19 pm

      That pumpkin freaks me out!!!!! It lights up from the inside so this evil glow comes out of it. But it is so perfectly creepy for Halloween I HAVE to put it out!!!

Leave a Reply

