Skip to content

Do you FARTLEK?

October 7, 2009

Did that get your attention?  Did you think to yourself…”only when I eat a lot of beans” or “I never do that in front on my boyfriend!”

Hee hee!!!

Fartlek training is actually a form of interval training that any level of exerciser can benefit from.

Dictionary.com describes fartlek as:

a training technique, used especially among runners, consisting of bursts of intense effort loosely alternating with less strenuous activity

Origin is Swedish fart = speed  lek = play  (speed play)

A fartlek is an interval workout that is less structured.  For instance, if you are a newer runner but want to increase your speed, your workout would consist of a slow jog for a few minutes, then a burst of faster running for as long as you feel comfortable, then back down to a slow jog. 

Fartlek training does take a bit of discipline as you need to make sure you are pushing yourself during the hard intervals. However, the intervals don’t need to be long, just intense.

I like to do a fartlek workout when I run outside, I use landmarks as a way to measure my intervals.  I slow jog for a bit, then run to the next big tree, then back to jogging.

The more traditional mode of interval training is one of my favorite ways to workout on a treadmill because I can watch the numbers and time.  This is when you do bursts of speed/intensity for a prescribed period, then back to a recovery period.

Fartleks and interval training are a great way to break up the boredom of a workout, but these workouts are also a great way to increase your fitness and speed in whatever sport you participate in. These types of workouts can easily be incorporated into a swim or bike workout as well, even walking, and can torch calories.

Did you enjoy this little educational post?  Would you like to see more posts like this?  Please leave your opinion in the comments!

Stay tuned for my post later as I am making some delicious pork chops, roasted potatoes and baked apples for our dinner tonight.

LEGAL STUFF

Citations from Dictionary.com:

American Psychological Association (APA):

fartlek. (n.d.). Dictionary.com Unabridged. Retrieved October 07, 2009, from Dictionary.com website: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/fartlek

Chicago Manual Style (CMS):

fartlek. Dictionary.com. Dictionary.com Unabridged. Random House, Inc. http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/fartlek (accessed: October 07, 2009).

Modern Language Association (MLA):

"fartlek." Dictionary.com Unabridged. Random House, Inc. 07 Oct. 2009. <Dictionary.com http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/fartlek>.

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE):

Dictionary.com, "fartlek," in Dictionary.com Unabridged. Source location: Random House, Inc. http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/fartlek. Available: http://dictionary.reference.com. Accessed: October 07, 2009.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. DiningAndDishing permalink
    October 7, 2009 5:14 pm

    I did enjoy that post! I always like to learn something new from a fellow health blogger, so I say keep it up :O). I need to increase my running speed anyway. I have very long legs but I’m not sure I move them fast enough!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 7, 2009 5:19 pm

      Thanks lady!! I know I need to get a little faster for sure…I want to run a speedy (for me) 5k on October 18, so I’m going to work on it!

      Courtney

Leave a Reply

