Skip to content

The final mile showdown

October 6, 2009

Whoo boy, did I have a doozy of a workout today!

I hit the gym and walked 2 laps around the track to warm up and then did a strength workout.

2 sets:

plie squats 15 reps 15 lb dumbbell

3 part lunge (5 reverse, 5 side, 5 front) 15 each leg holding 15 lb dumbbells

hammer curls 15 lbs

overhead triceps extension 15 lbs

lat pull down 60 lbs

face down leg lifts on bosu

crunches on bosu 20 reps

Then I hit the treadmill.  Let me just say, although I do run, I in no way consider myself a runner.  I love to hate it.  I can’t run fast, I can’t run far, I can’t run for long.  Or maybe that is just the story I tell myself?

I run for fitness, generally do a combo of running/walking.  I rarely run for more than a mile without taking a little walk break.

I got on the treadmill today, set the time for 45 minutes and walked for a few.  Then I set the speed to 5.0 mph.  VERY slow.  But I thought to myself, who cares!  You are running for YOU, no one else.  So do what you can!  After about a mile, I was warmed up, so I put the speed up a little.  Then a little more.  Pretty soon I was at 5.5 mph.  I was trucking along, my legs were feeling great, my lungs were feeling great.  I got to 2 miles and my mind starting telling me NO.

I overruled my mind.  I told myself I just had to get to my usual 3 miles.  So I just kept going. I put the speed up to 5.6 mph and ran ran ran.  I had not stopped to walk at all yet. 

I couldn’t believe how great my body felt even though my mind was playing tricks.  I told my mind to shut up.  The timer on the treadmill got to 10 minutes left.  I had run exactly 3 miles in the 35 minutes.  I hit stop and stood there for a minute.  There was 10 minutes left on the clock.  If was to run 6 mph I could knock out one more mile in the time left.

I can’t run 6 mph for a mile!  That’s just not me.  I can bench press over 100 pounds but run 6 mph? No way.  I can 75 squats and 75 lunges in a workout, but no way can I run another mile.

I hit go.  And then I punched the speed up.  And away I went!!!!  I think what helped was that clock was counting down.  I could see exactly how long I had left.  AND I DID IT!! I made it through that final mile.  I was sweaty, I was red in the face, I was smiling like a crazy person!

TRAINING STATS

Strength plus run

1 hr 16 minutes

740 cals

153 average HR

183 high HR

 

NUTRITION

Before I went in the gym, I ate a Bear Naked pure and natural grain-ola bar in the tropical fruit flavor. I didn’t think I was going to like it since I generally don’t like tropical.

100_2293

 

This bar was AWESOME!! I would buy a box of these.  (I think I got this in a race goody bag) It has a very nice pineapple flavor and it was soft and sticky instead of hard.  All the ingredients in the list were recognizable, and had 220 calories and 7 grams of fat.  It was really delicious…maybe that is what gave me the legs for my run!

After I got home and hit a nice hot shower, I made lunch.

Here are my ingredients:

100_2295

Sweet potato, ground turkey, hummus, Oikos Vanilla, Kashi Pumpkin spice flax bar

Here is the final result:

100_2296  100_2297

Yum yum yum!!!

See you later bloggies!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. jessica (pierre) murphy permalink
    October 6, 2009 8:13 pm

    as you proved to yourself today, it IS just your mind telling you that. you can do it. if you can train for a tri and complete it, and do all those other things, you have crazy strong legs and you can run another mile. good for your head, overruling your body! (my mantra to myself in the last mile is usually “c’mon fatty, keep it goin'”). great post!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 6, 2009 8:16 pm

      Thanks Jess! I have to make sure I don’t compare myself to others out there..I know that I only have myself to compete against.

      A favorite mantra my friend Tammy and I use while rollerblading: “Don’t let the fat catch you” HA!!!

  2. Menden (Skinny Menny) permalink
    October 7, 2009 12:26 am

    That’s so awesome! Way to go…mind over matter, right?? For me, that’s totally the hardest part of running…as soon as it starts feeling tough, my mind starts telling me to stop. I’m going to remember this post next time I go running, for sure! 🙂

  3. October 7, 2009 2:58 am

    Awesome job on you’re run! You might tell yourself no, but you ARE a runner!

  4. October 7, 2009 3:14 am

    jessica told me about your post and i had to see for myself.
    WAY TO GO, courtney.
    and, DON’T EVER compare yourself to anyone else. there is no need. you rock as you like no one ever could.

    xoxo from madison.

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 7, 2009 3:19 am

      Can’t wait to hear about your marathon report Emily!!!

  5. Laura permalink
    October 7, 2009 1:07 pm

    Great job Courtney! I love when I am working out and I hit one of those “I feel great, I can do more” moments. You have to take advantage and actually do more….just like you did! Way to go!

  6. Jen permalink
    October 7, 2009 2:05 pm

    Running is 80 percent mental. You run, therefore you are a runner. Great job getting past the mental roadblock. A good next goal might be to get in the zone — it’s a nice place where you’re at a comfortable pace, you’re past the mental and you stop thinking about running and get lost in your music, another thought, no thoughts, whatever. And you loose track of time and distance. Those are the best, most mentally freeing runs. Like the big O – when you have one, you know. ; )

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 7, 2009 7:54 pm

      Heeee heeeee!!!!!

      I totally had runners high yesterday…so rare that I just went with it! Would like it more often!

      Runner’s high that is! :>

  7. erpara permalink
    October 7, 2009 7:36 pm

    Wow, Courtney – that meal sounds amazingly gross! lol
    It was actually yummy? Hmmm maybe I’ll have to experiment more with hummus than I already have…

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 7, 2009 7:53 pm

      HA! It does sound kind of gross, but healthy AND tasty! I would have added some onion to it if I wasn’t too lazy to chop!!!

  8. October 8, 2009 6:48 pm

    Way to push it on that last mile! I am SO proud of you!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 8, 2009 9:19 pm

      Thanks Stacy!!! It was hard but I seriously was smiling like an idiot when I was done!!!!

Leave a Reply

