Skip to content

Bargain Shopping-YOUR TIPS WANTED!

October 6, 2009

Seriously, who could possibly resist this face? I don’t care what anyone says, some dogs DO smile.

100_2291

Prince turns 5 this month, and my sweet little Georgie turns 6.  I can’t believe my babies are getting so old!

100_2281

We did a little end of summer photo shoot last night while the pups were romping around the front yard.

100_2274   100_2280

Last of the summer flowers in my yard.  I did a little experiment and planted some of those packets of wildflowers around my rose bushes this year and had really good luck. The flowers were beautiful all summer!

100_2278 100_2283 100_2287

BARGAIN SHOPPING

I love getting a good bargain and using coupons.  It is especially important now that we are pinching every penny.

I ended up running to the grocery store yesterday for a few items and found a GREAT deal on porkchops.  I got 3.5 pounds of bone in but very meaty porkchops for a little over $8 after the discount/club card.  There was a total of 6 porkchops that were very big and meaty in the package, that is 3 meals for $8. 

100_2269   100_2271

When I got home I separated the porkchops.  I put 2 in the fridge for eating this week, then divided up the other 4 into 2 packages of 2 and put in the freezer for future meals.

100_2272 100_2273

Now I know I have at least 2 meals in the freezer for the next month or so. 

WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE BARGAIN SHOPPING TIPS?

Do you like to shop in bulk? I like getting ground turkey and chicken breasts at Costco.

Do you use coupons?  Do you shop at more than one store to get the good deals? Do you use a list when you shop?

What are your secrets to saving money with shopping?  Please leave in the comments below!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    October 6, 2009 3:29 pm

    Your dogs are precious, Courtney! Love their cute faces!!!

    I have to admit, I’m not very good at saving money when it comes to groceries. I’ll be interested to hear other peoples’ tips. I do LOVE coupons though, and I go to Costco for things that I know we’ll use in bulk, like apples, chicken breast, cheese, and toilet paper 😉

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 6, 2009 3:33 pm

      I admit I get on kicks with coupons. I get mad when I forget to bring them to the store!! I finally got smart and started writing my lists on plain white envelopes, then I put the coupons that go with the things on my list in the envelope. That way I don’t forget to use them!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 7, 2009 3:13 am

      Thanks Amy…what kind of dog do you have? Buying seasonal is such a great tip!! Love it!

  2. October 6, 2009 3:56 pm

    Wow, great save!
    I do the same thing–when I see that something is on sale I’ll buy it and freeze it if I have to. I like to buy in bulk from Costco for sure–they have so much and really can’t beat the prices! I occasionally use coupons if I happen to stumble upon any that I actually need and I ALWAYS make a list!!

  3. October 6, 2009 7:46 pm

    I do a combination of things. I use coupons when I can, but I try not to let the coupons I have dictate what I buy. If I wouldn’t normally buy that product, I don’t buy it with a coupon. I also go to 3 different stores to get my deals. I go to Winn Dixie and Publix for their BOGOs and then I do the rest of my shopping at Walmart, which is almost always cheaper on every item. I buy things in bulk when I get good deals like BOGO on things I can freeze. I have a FoodSaver vaccuum sealer and I break the packages up into individual meal sizes and freeze them.

    I like the idea of using envelopes to write lists on and putting the coupons inside. Very smart!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 6, 2009 8:05 pm

      Hey Amanda, I know what you mean about not letting coupons talk me into buying something! Lots of coupons in the Sunday paper are for new products and that is why there is a coupon. It isn’t something I normally buy, but I’m tempted by the great coupon. Good point!!

  4. October 7, 2009 3:02 am

    My dog is a smiler too! Your dogs are adorable.

    I live overseas with my Air Force husband now so our grocery options are limited, but when I was stateside I definitely bought the Sunday paper for the coupons (I would save way more than I spent on the paper), check the Thursday ads for the best deals, buy seasonal, have my meals planned and a detailed grocery list with me, and try to eliminate any impulse buys.

    Good luck! Oh yeah, your flowers are gorgeous!

  5. October 7, 2009 2:05 pm

    Your dogs are adooorable!
    Thanks for the great saving tips!

  6. Christie Parker permalink
    October 13, 2009 3:17 am

    I have been using this site http://grocery.bidtopia.com They do banana boxes filled with groceries. I have been getting $150 worth of groceries for $55 shipped right to my door. It must be liquidation becuase I do not see how they are making any money doing this but it is GREAT. On my 3rd box now 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Perfect Autumn Dinner « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

