Skip to content

Real Men DO Wear Pink

October 5, 2009

If you watched any NFL games yesterday, you may have noticed something a little out of the ordinary.  To show their solidarity with October being National Breast Cancer Awareness Month (click HERE) the NFL wore pink.  There were pink hats, gloves, armbands, shoelaces, shoes, goalposts, etc.  The NFL is very committed to bringing recognition to breast cancer (click HERE) because this isn’t just a disease that affects women.  The fathers, brothers, sons and cousins of the women that develop breast cancer are all affected as well.

I think my favorite image was the quarterback on the Pittsburgh Steelers, Ben Roethlisberger who is a big, burly guy wearing pink shoes click HERE for a pic.

Yesterday I started the day off by putting 4 frozen chicken breasts in the crockpot with a jar of salsa and turning it on high for about 5 hours.

100_2224   100_2225 100_2223

When I got home from my Brother/Sister Bootcamp I shredded up the chicken and added a package of low fat cream cheese.

100_2254

This is basically a take off of my Turkey Enchiladas Recipe

Then I assembled the rest of my ingredients.  I used 2 different kinds of tortillas, plain fat free flour tortillas and red chile tortillas.  I also used one can of mild enchilada sauce.

100_2255

I assembled the tortillas by using kitchen tongs to put some of the chicken mixture on the tortilla and then rolled it up.  Because the tortillas were the small size, I used 2 small pans rather than my usual one big pan.

So pretty!

100_2256   100_2257

I topped the pans with cheese.  I used more on the larger pan (for the hubby) and less on my pan (the small pan)

100_2259  100_2260

YUMMY Sunday night dinner!  Baked these in a  375 degree oven for about 45 minutes.

100_2261

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 2:11 pm

    Omg enchiladas are my favorite–these look amazing!!! I need to figure out something to make with my crockpot!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 5, 2009 2:33 pm

      The crockpot is my fave. Soup, stew, meat, veggies, anything I don’t feel like supervising. Basically put anything in the crockpot, cover and cook on low all day and it will be good. Just add less liquid than you think you need (unless it is soup) because it doesn’t evaporate off, so not much liquid is lost in the cooking!

  2. October 5, 2009 2:50 pm

    Yum! I haven’t eaten or cooked enchiladas in a long time! I think they will be coming to a kitchen near me soon!!

Leave a Reply

