Skip to content

Breakfast, lunch, SWINE FLU! (please comment!!!)

October 5, 2009

For breakfast this morning, I used an easy trick to make a quick egg without too much trouble.  Think you don’t have time for a protein rich egg in the morning? Try this quick tip!  Coat a small ramekin or bowl with cooking spray.  Crack one egg into bowl.   Cover with a napkin and put in microwave, cooking time will depend on your microwave, you may have to experiment.  I put mine in for 60 seconds on level 7.  Voila!

100_2262   100_2263

Lunch was one leftover enchilada and something so tasty I just have to share.  One small vanilla Oikos with a crushed Kashi pumpkin spice flax bar.  This was so delicious.  This is my first time trying the vanilla Oikos.  It is fat free, 110 calories for the container.  There was no super, sugary sweet taste, just a nice little touch of vanilla and the usual lovely tang of greek yogurt.  Oh so good.

100_2268

SWINE FLU—WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS?

There has been a lot of excitement in the news regarding the swine flu/H1N1. 

The official CDC website for the H1N1 flu has this to say:

Symptoms:

fever

cough

sore throat

runny or stuffy nose

body aches

headaches

chills

fatigue

sometimes diarrhea or vomiting

The CDC advises if you have these symptoms/have the flu you should stay home and avoid contact with other people except to get medical care.

Please click HERE for more information from the CDC on the H1N1 flu.

Are you worried about swine flu?

Have you had swine flu?

Are you getting the flu shot?

Are you taking any other special precautions for you or your family?

Please leave your thoughts in the comments!!!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 6:26 pm

    There’s a lot of talk about Swine flu, esp since I work in a germ filled environment. I’m not worried about and I won’t be getting the shot. Hope I didn’t just jinx myself.

  2. Tam permalink
    October 5, 2009 6:27 pm

    I want to come over for enchiladas! : ) They look AWESOME!!!

  3. October 5, 2009 7:13 pm

    Great topic! I’m not worried about the swine flu. I’ve never had swine flu, however i was in mexico when it was all happening. I am not getting the flu show, I am taking extereme caution in keeping my hands washed and staying away from anyone sick. My boss just has me buy 40 bottles of hand sanitizers to give to our team. 🙂

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 5, 2009 7:47 pm

      Mexico is a great place to be PERIOD let alone when there is some crazy flu going on here!! HA!

  4. October 5, 2009 7:44 pm

    I know a lot of people are freaking out about swine flu right now, but honestly it’s no different than any other flu – it’s just so prevalent right now because it’s a different and new strand, so no one has really built up any immunity to it/ it hasn’t been in any of the vaccines.

    I have not yet gotten the flu shot, and I keep going back and forth if I will. I’m actually pretty confident that I’m doing really well in my overall healthy lifestyle right now. My husband has been sick with the flu the past couple days, and it’s amazing I haven’t gotten it yet (I used to get sick ALL the time — it’s amazing I haven’t now, because I know I’ve been more stressed, gotten less sleep and I just got my period, which are all things that decrease your immune system’s strength).

    Anyway, I really feel that by exercising routinely and my new vegan diet that it’s doing great things for my health. The only preventative measures I’m taking are Airborne, hand-washing and lots of Lysol. 🙂 (And sleeping on the couch until my hubs is better). 🙂

    Sorry this is so long, lol, just wanted to contribute to the discussion. Great topic! 🙂

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 5, 2009 7:46 pm

      Not too long at all!! That is exactly what I’m looking for…sounds like you are taking your health into your own hands with healthy living rather than getting the shot. I always go back and forth on the shot but have never gotten it. I figure I will leave it for the young, old and sick since I’m relatively healthy (knock on wood!)

  5. lessonstolearn permalink
    October 5, 2009 9:12 pm

    Hi there! I just found your blog and I love your story. I am changing careers too, heading back to school at 31 to become a dietitian.

    As far as the flu goes…I’m not terribly worried. But my old job was as a school counselor, surrounded by germs! I guess I’m glad to not be in a school every day right now. But that being said, I never got the flu in all my years working in schools.

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 5, 2009 9:27 pm

      How awesome about your career change! I want to hear more!! :>

      Thanks for commenting!

  6. October 5, 2009 9:14 pm

    Rock County Wisconsin H1N1 first flu death reported today (10.5.09) Rock County currently has 52 confirmed case of H1N1 virus. Vaccines are expected to arrive within the state in the next two weeks. Initial vaccines will be provided to Health care/EMS, children 6 months to 24 years, pregnant women, adults 25-64 with chronic health issues.

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 5, 2009 9:27 pm

      Eeek!! Thanks for the facts Mom!

  7. Bill permalink
    October 5, 2009 10:55 pm

    The note came home today that kids at my daughter’s school have been diagnosed with H1N1…. it has landed in Northeast Wisconsin. Still no plans to get the shot (although my understanding is only certain at risk groups are even eligible to get it).

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 5, 2009 11:04 pm

      Wow, that is good they let the parents know what’s up…but scary at the same time!

  8. molly permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:01 pm

    I really don’t know about the H1N1 shot…especially for the kids. Who knows the effects of the shot in the future. They will be getting regular flu shots -they always have. Not sure yet!

    But WTF – Brian Littrell has the Swine Flu. Get Bent Kevin Richardson!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 5, 2009 11:04 pm

      Nooooo…the Backstreet Boys have the swine flu? How did you even find that out!? Hilarious!

  9. October 6, 2009 5:32 am

    I haven’t been affected, nor do I know anyone who has been, so I’m not really concerned…Our neighborhood is starting to have discounted vaccine in grocery stores though.

  10. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    October 6, 2009 3:28 pm

    I love making eggs that way!!

    Yes, I’m completely paranoid about getting the flu this year, swine or otherwise. I work in a mall. Millions of people will be hanging out here over the next couple of months….and for some reason, people always want to come to the mall when they’re sick! ugh.

    I’m not sure about getting the flu shot though….I hear stories about people getting sick from the shot, too!

Leave a Reply

