Skip to content

Stairway to Heaven

October 3, 2009

HOUSEKEEPING:  Please note I have now added a Blog Search function at the bottom right hand side of the page.   Looking for my super immunity soup recipe or that post I did on Fair Trade? Just plug it into the search!

Yesterday I finally had a chance to hit the gym for as long as I wanted.  It is nice to do a quick and intense workout, most of the time that is all there is time for in the average person’s life.  But I had studied all morning and was ready to blow off some steam!

As soon as I got to the gym I decided to visit my old frenemy the Step Mill.

(image from Google images)

 

I hopped on and set it for 45 minutes.  WHAT THE WHAT!! I usually never go over 30 minutes on this thing because my heart is usually pounding out of my chest and I’m drenched with sweat.  I got on and started going.  I did intervals of 1 min 30 seconds of fast climbing, followed by 1 min 30 seconds of recovery time.  I got to about 25 minutes remaining and decided my goal was to hit 3 miles.  THREE MILES OF STAIRS!?!? I did it though! It ended up being a little over 3 miles in the 45 minutes plus it was 152 floors!

Yowza! I wasn’t done there…I jumped on the treadmill and did a super slow run of 2 miles plus a long cooldown.  My legs felt great! Surprisingly don’t hurt today either.

TRAINING STATS

Total for stepmill plus treadmill

1 hr 22 mins

840 calories

158 average HR

182 max HR

152 floors, 3.18 miles on stepmill

2.18 miles on treadmill

Came home and made a really simple dinner.  I didn’t feel like cooking and had been good about eating homemade food all week, so I grabbed an emergency Lean Cuisine from the freezer.  I made the Thai Style Chicken with rice that is actually very delicious.  It has a mild, red, curry/coconut type sauce on it that is really outstanding for a frozen meal. 

(pic from the Lean Cuisine website as I forgot to photo it!)

I bulk up my meal I had a cut up orange (much to my doggie’s delight as they got to split a slice) and I toasted a whole wheat tortilla with a bit of garlic powder and cut into chip shapes. 

Friday night involved me on the lazyboy with about 10 hours worth of DVR shows…I’m finally all caught up!  LOVE VAMPIRE DIARIES btw!!  Great show, my new fave besides Glee!!

Ok bloggies…hope everyone has a great weekend planned!!  We have noooo plans, only weekend in October that we can free style. 

See you soon!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2009 6:40 pm

    I love the stair master!! You rocked it out girl!! have an awesome weekend!!

  2. October 4, 2009 3:59 am

    hahaha…. I love the picture of your “frenemy”! Way to push yourself and have a great workout!

  3. October 4, 2009 6:32 am

    Great workout! I love the stair master. 🙂 So gla your legs aren’t hurting you today, either!

  4. Menden (Skinny Menny) permalink
    October 4, 2009 1:52 pm

    You go girl! You totally kicked that Stairmill’s ass!! LOL! 🙂

  5. courtlove111 permalink*
    October 4, 2009 3:02 pm

    Thanks ladies! I definitely wanted to quit at one point, but I just wanted to get to 3 miles and couldn’t give up when I was so close!!!

  6. greensandjeans permalink
    October 4, 2009 4:53 pm

    that step master is AWFUL! major props to you for getting through it!

Leave a Reply

