Skip to content

FAIR TRADE FRIDAY

October 2, 2009

Hey blog land! Happy Friday!! Today is the day of the big Olympics announcement, Chicago will find out early afternoon if the 2016 Summer Olympics will take place here.  I’m kind of excited!

Yesterday after some doggy related chaos around my house I took off for the gym.  My friend Molly reminded me about the good old Arc Trainer…haven’t been on one in a while so I decided to hit it! I did a hill interval level 8 workout for 30 minutes and I was SWEATIN by the time I was done.  Then I hit the weights for a super quick strength workout (used the machines):

2 sets of 15 reps:

Shoulder press

Chest Press

Triceps pull down

Seated row

Seated flye

Rear Delt

I quickly showered and went to train my clients.  ROOKIE mistake, I forgot a snack. I hadn’t eaten anything since noon, it was now 6 PM and I was hungry.  My clients are probably feeling it today, I pushed them!!

Got home and said good bye to Buford, my parents came around 9:30 and picked him up.

100_2209

I’m back down to a 2 dog household, and that is probably a good thing for now!

FAIR TRADE FRIDAY!!

October is Fair Trade month, and I decided this morning would be perfect to try out the samples of coffee that Green Mountain sent me.

A little about fair trade and why we should care (according to the material sent by Green Mountain)

“Fair Trade builds economic independence for family farmers around the world by:

-Guaranteeing a fair price for their harvest

-Providing access to consumer markets, cutting out unnecessary middlemen,

-Supporting community development such as roads and schools,

-Providing affordable access to credit,

-Promoting sustainable farming practices,

-Enabling farmers to plan for the future.”

I never knew why Fair Trade products were so important, I’m glad I was able to learn more about it.  Green Mountain also donates 5% of pre-tax profits to community and environmental projects, locally and globally and offers one of the largest selections of Fair Trade Certified Organic Coffees.

Why is organic farming important?

(from the Green Mountain materials)

“-Protects farmers and their villages from direct contact with chemicals,

-Reduces erosion and flooding,

-Protects forests and wildlife,

-Creates pure, naturally great tasting coffee.”

To find out more, click Green Mountain Coffee or check out Fair Trade Month.

BUT HOW DOES IT TASTE?!

I made a cup of the Sumatran Lake Tawar.  The package says: Dark Roast, deep and dark with syrupy body, dried fruit notes, and a chocolate finish.

I could smell a bit of the syrupy chocolate as it was brewing.  MMMMMM

100_2211

I drink my coffee with a splash of skim milk, no sugar.  This coffee was very smooth…no after bite. Sometimes a dark roast can taste bitter, but there was no bitter taste to this at all. I loved it! I could definitely taste a little bit of a chocolate finish.  Overall, I would highly recommend this coffee and can’t wait to have another cup!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Marci permalink
    October 2, 2009 2:19 pm

    A…you did push us
    B…I felt your hunger
    C…I was a crabby pants yesterday so I deserved it
    D…Conscious Cup Coffee in Crystal Lake is another awesome Fair Trade choice!
    E…Have a Great Friday!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 2, 2009 2:21 pm

      You guys did great though! Are your shoulders sore today?? Note to self: put snack in gym bag right now so I don’t do that again!!!
      Have a great weekend lady!!

  2. October 2, 2009 2:58 pm

    Hey court, cute glasses!! I love them! i have some but I’m dying to get a new pair…I want some like yours those are really cute!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 2, 2009 5:47 pm

      Do you just love my first thing in the morning bun for my hair with my face shoved in the coffee!! HA!

  3. October 2, 2009 3:53 pm

    I agree, some dark coffees end up tasting bitter to me. I’ll have to try those out when my coffee supply runs out.

    I live in the Chicagoland area too – do you want the Olympics to be in Chicago? Luckily, I am in the far NW suburbs, so I don’t think it would effect us much.

    Happy Friday!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 2, 2009 3:54 pm

      I in the far NW suburbs as well, but just was announced Chicago got bounced in the first round!! So no Olympics for us. I think it would have been exciting though!!

      Courtney

  4. October 28, 2009 6:21 pm

    Great article!! We also wrote about fair trade month: http://fashionableearth.org/blog/2009/10/28/fair-trade-month/

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for FAIR TRADE FRIDAY « Adventures in Tri-ing [courtlove111.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

