Skip to content

Spaghetti Squash and a Spooky Start to October!

October 1, 2009

Welcome to October everyone! This is my absolute favorite month of the year…cool, crisp, apples and pumpkins, scarecrows and spice.

I was awoken at 4:30 this morning by a vague banging noise outside.  It almost sounded like someone was playing music down the street and I could hear the bass.

(all three dogs and hubs were snoring away)

100_2202  

I peeked out the front window and saw nothing.  Then I pulled back the curtain to the deck and could see a shape.  I turned on the light. 

raccoon image small

A raccoon bigger than my dog Georgie was eating out of the bird feeder!! He slowly turned and looked at me and kind of gave a shrug like, ok fine, I’ll get off your deck and slowly lumbered to the baby gate at the top of the stairs, crawled over it and shimmied off into the night.  But he definitely took his time!!

Let’s backtrack to last night.  I made tomato sauce with turkey sausage, spaghetti squash, pasta and green beans.

SPAGHETTI SQUASH

Took one spaghetti squash and preheated the oven to 375.  I pierced the squash all over with a fork, put it in a baking dish and cooked for one hour.

I took it out of the oven and let it cool.  Then I cut in half and scraped out the seeds and middle.  Then I shredded up the squash into a bowl.  I tried a few small bites and was in love! How have I never had it before!

100_2188  100_2189

100_2191  100_2192

 

I also had some delicious tomato sauce with turkey sausage melding in the crockpot.

COURTNEY’S SPICY TOMATO SAUCE

One can crushed tomato

One can tomato paste

to taste: crushed red pepper, garlic, salt and pepper

splash of olive oil

one package of lean turkey sausages

I removed the sausages from the casings and cooked them on the stovetop.  While these were cooking I put a splash of olive oil in a pan and put on low with about a teaspoon of minced garlic and cooked it until it was golden.  This takes the bite off garlic a bit.

Put one can of crushed tomatoes and one can of tomato paste in the crockpot and added the garlic and olive oil.  Dash of salt, pepper and another small splash of olive oil.

When the sausage was halfway cooked I added about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper and finished the cooking.

Combined the sausage with the sauce and cooked in crockpot on low until time to eat.

100_2171  100_2169

100_2168   100_2173

When the hubs got home from work I boiled up some water and made some pasta for him with the bits and pieces of pasta I had in the pantry.  I started my bowl with some spaghetti squash.

100_2193   100_2194

My plate was completed with some sauce and some green beans.  The hubs loved his hot and hearty meal!

100_2195  100_2197

 

SMALL

100_2199

MEDIUM

100_2200

LARGE

100_2198

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 2:43 pm

    I have been wanting to try spaghetti squash but I was always nervous about it for some reason (maybe the fact that it takes an hour to cook, thats a lot of advanced planning for me haha). You have motivated me though, it looks delicious!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 1, 2009 2:44 pm

      Hey Kelly! Thanks for reading. You could make the spaghetti squash in advance, keep it in the fridge and heat up as needed!! Or throw in the oven while you do chores or something and before you know it is ready.

      Courtney

  2. October 1, 2009 4:48 pm

    I love spegettie squash. its one of my favs favs!! i use it as pasta for my spegattie sauce sometimes. mmmm.

  3. October 1, 2009 6:14 pm

    LOVE speghetti squash esp this time of year! its so comforting!!

    oh and did i mention i LOVE your doggies!!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 1, 2009 6:20 pm

      Thanks!!! The mini schnauzer is just here for a few days..I’m starting to think my hubs was right, we cannot be outnumbered by dogs!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Score: Raccoon 2, Courtney 0 « Adventures in Tri-ing
  2. Score: Raccoon 3, Courtney 0 « Adventures in Tri-ing

Leave a Reply

