Skip to content

Feels like it’s my birthday!

September 29, 2009

(Did you miss my triathlon recap? Click HERE)

I know it is my hubby’s birthday today, but it feels like mine with all the fun packages I’ve gotten the last few days!

I have gotten some samples to try out…please look for my reviews on these delicious looking products in the near future:

100_2139   100_2043

100_2148

New Nature’s Pride 100% Whole Wheat Bread and 12 Grain Bread, Green Mountain and Newman’s Own Coffee, and Bear Naked Granola Bar.

And I also got my prize from the Green Dog Wine one year blogiversary giveaway!  This nice food scale is going to come in handy as I attempt to get back in the swing of healthy eating.  I used it to weigh a biscuit I made for my hubby’s dinner!!

(please don’t mind the horrible pics, my camera is half broken and it isn’t working very well)

100_2149   100_2151

 

Since it is my hubby’s birthday today, but I have a client I’m training tonight, I decided to make some beef stew, biscuits, and chocolate chip cookies that will be waiting for him when he gets home.

Courtney’s Crockpot Birthday Beef Stew

approx 1.25 lbs of roast (I got a cheaper cut because it will get tender in the crockpot)

1 can beef broth

1 can reduced fat and sodium cream of mushroom soup

1 yellow onion

4 potatoes

garlic

seasoning to taste

I put the meat in the crockpot first and turn to high.  Pour cream of mushroom soup over meat.  I used my usual crushed garlic, probably about a teaspoon, over the soup.  You can make this recipe without the soup, and add more veggies in such as carrots or zucchini.  However, since it is for my hubby, I decided to make it the way he would like it!

Chop up potatoes and layer over mixture.  Add seasoning (such as Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute) to taste.  Layer one chopped onion over the top.  Pour broth over the top to help meld the flavors.

I am going to leave the crockpot on high until I leave for training, so it will be on high for a total of about 3.5 hours, then turn on low when I leave.  It will cook for about another 2.5 hours on low.  The meat should be soft, tender and shred up easily by the time JR gets home from work and all he has to do is scoop up a huge bowl and eat with the biscuits I pre-made.

100_2142 100_2144

100_2145   100_2146

And of course some fresh chocolate chip cookies for dessert!!

100_2147

Ok, have to get the kitchen cleaned and some laundry done before training…have a great night blog land!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 12:46 pm

    So glad you liked it! That’s a great pic of you by the way 🙂

  2. September 30, 2009 3:27 pm

    OHH you were the lucky GD winner, seriously I want to hear all about how that scale works and if you find it useful. I keep talking myself out of buying one!

Leave a Reply

