Skip to content

Lake Carroll Triathlon Recap-Part II

September 28, 2009

Miss part one of my recap? Click HERE

SATURDAY-LET’S HAVE SOME FUN DAY!

Saturday we woke up and headed into Freeport, the nearest big town from where we were staying to grab some breakfast.  We stopped into a local coffee shop that had wonderful baked goods and hot, fresh coffee.  Oh, and wi-fi!!  I grabbed a skim latte and a cherry almond scone that was to die for.  Fresh and crumbly.  JR had a caramel latte and a blueberry muffin.  No pics cuz we ate it all up too fast. 

We headed back to the Lake Carroll area and showered up and then headed over to the Lake Carroll lodge to pick up my packet and get the race info.  Lake Carroll is a private community with a lake, golf course, pool, etc.  There is one street that runs all the way around the community, Lake Carroll Blvd.  This is a little over 12 miles and it was the bike route.  After we stopped at the lodge and got my packet and also got my numbers on my arm (to save time for Sunday) we drove the bike route.  This is when I started to get nervous.

My bike training has been mainly through the forest preserves of the northwest suburbs of Chicago. There were some hills in my training, but nothing like the hills we saw as we drove around! Twelve miles of straight up and down, not a lot of flat.  UH OH!! I was now more nervous about the bike than the swim!  The first turn right out of the transition area for the bike was straight up a huge hill.  UGH!

We decided to go do something fun during the day on Saturday since we had the whole day to kill.  We headed about 40 miles to Monroe, Wisconsin.  (Seymour readers, you may remember a little state championship football game vs. the Cheesemakers of Monroe..I made sure to give the high school the evil eye when we drove by).

I wanted my hubs to have some fun too on this trip since it was doubling as our anniversary getaway, so we hit downtown Monroe where we saw the Turner Hall (JR is a member of the Turners). 

100_2074   100_2075

 

We had some lunch and then headed to the Minhas Brewery.  This is the oldest brewery in the Midwest and the 2nd oldest operating brewery in the country.  There was a tour starting at 3 PM and we happened to walk in the door at 2:55!  So we decided to check it out.

They make a brew called Lazy Mutt…we thought that was appropriate since we often refer to our dogs by that name!

100_2077

Here was a sign in the brewery that was funny AND disturbing:

100_2078

After the tour, we were all invited to sit at the bar and sample as many beers as many times as we wanted!!  The cost of the tour was $10 per person and included all the sampling we wanted, a free glass,  a free 5 pack of beer, and a free case of their new energy drink.  Can’t beat that!! My hubs had a good time sampling, I only sampled the cream soda since I didn’t want to drink before the big event.

Here is our free swag:

100_2079

After this we headed back towards our cabin and decided to have dinner at the Lake Carroll clubhouse at the golf course.  We got a chance to talk to the local residents and find out the scoop.  They told us the run portion of the course was a muddy, rocky trail that was used for the ATV’s and that I should be very careful especially since there had been recent rain.  UH OH!! Now I’m getting nervous about the run!

We finally headed back to the cabin so I could prep for the event and get a good night sleep.

I laid out all my clothes and packed my bag up for the transition.  I also set out my breakfast and got the little coffee pot ready.

100_2080   100_2081

100_2082    100_2085

 

Here is my nervous face:

100_2083

 

Here is my “I’m going to rock it out pose”

100_2084

We set three different alarms for 4:45 AM and I hit the hay!

Check back for the final part in the series: The Big Event later tonight!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. christina permalink
    September 28, 2009 8:22 pm

    ahhh… I’m on the edge of my seat… I want to know about the big event!!!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 28, 2009 8:45 pm

      I’m really building the suspense today aren’t I!!

  2. September 28, 2009 8:39 pm

    just found your blog. loved your about me page. i’m intersted ot know what the big event is!!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 28, 2009 8:45 pm

      The big event is my first sprint tri! All the details of the actual event coming tonight!

  3. September 28, 2009 8:41 pm

    I can’t wait to read more…ohhh the cliffhangers!!!

  4. Menden (Skinny Menny) permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:17 pm

    Can’t wait to read about the rest of your adventure….hurry up and fill us in!! 😉

  5. jessica permalink
    September 29, 2009 4:56 pm

    we love lazy mutt beer! (mostly because it comes in an 8 pack and is about the same price as a 6…)

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 29, 2009 5:06 pm

      Isn’t that cool? My hubs got a t-shirt with Lazy Mutt on it and some free Lazy Mutt beer…he was a happy boy!

Leave a Reply

