Skip to content

Want to run a 5k with Adventures in Tri-ing?

September 24, 2009

Hey blog friends! I have really accomplished a lot today.  I confirmed the cabin reservations for this weekend, printed out directions, started to pack, walked the dogs, poop patrolled and studied.  I took the Written Simulation Practice Exam for the ACE personal training certification exam and did GREAT!  This really made me feel good after not doing so great on the math practice problems.  The practice simulation basically gives you a “story problem” about a client that comes to you and then you need to pick the correct questions to ask and the correct program elements.  They throw a few curve balls at you like an injury or something like that and you have to make changes based on this.  I did very well on this practice exam and this is all about the actual practice of being a personal trainer so that gives me confidence!

Then I hit the treadmill for a quick and sweaty workout.  I was SO bored on the treadmill…I ran for 15 minutes and then decided to play with some intervals.  After my first 15 minutes of running I did 5 min intervals consisting of the following until I hit 35 minutes:

1 min at 3 MPH (recovery)

1 min at 3.5 MPH (walking)

1 min at 5.0 MPH

1 min at 5.5 MPH

1 min at 6.0 MPH

Repeat!  Kept me from being bored and at the end I threw in some extra minutes at 6.0 and called it a day. 

TRAINING STATS

3 miles

40 mins (included warmup and cooldown)

427 calories

162 average HR

189 high HR (heee haw!!)

I looked beautiful after this run! Yes I wear old school over the head headphones.  Earbuds fall out of my ears cuz my ears are too small!

100_2050

WHO WANTS TO RUN A RACE WITH ADVENTURES IN TRI-ING???

I am running the 5k Trick or Treat Trot put on by the Barrington Breakfast Rotary on Sunday, October 18 at 8 AM in Barrington, IL.

You can check out their website and sign up at www.signmeup.com/65904

If you sign up and want to run together drop me an email at adventuresintri@yahoo.com and let me know you are running so we can meet up!

Ok, I’m a starvin girl after that workout so I’m going to polish off the chili in the fridge and chill until I go train my client tonight.

Check back tomorrow for my post about my goals for my triathlon on Sunday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2009 1:47 am

    oh, i want to! i really, really want to…

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 25, 2009 12:46 pm

      A nice little 3 miler would fit in nicely with your marathon training wouldn’t it? Love to get you to do a guest post on your marathon training!!

Leave a Reply

