Skip to content

Prelude to a triathlon

September 24, 2009

Warning: Biggest Loser spoilers ahead if you are not caught up on your DVR!!  SKIP THE FIRST PARAGRAPH IF YOU HAVEN’T WATCHED IT YET!!!

Loved this weeks episode of Biggest Loser! I always tell my husband I wish no one would go home because they all need to be there so desperately.  And that happened this week with all of the contestants managing to stay on campus due to the competitions the Biggest Loser had them all participate in. 

SPOILIERS OVER

I found it interesting that they revealed they are shooting to burn 6,000 calories a day for the women and the men are burning 8,000.  WOW!!!  Now I don’t feel bad when I feel like I’m busting my butt with diet and exercise and not dropping weight the way the contestants do.  Obviously it is their job while they are there to burn as many calories as possible.  But to do that in real life is just not possible.  I sometimes burn as many as 1,100 calories on a very good day when I have 2 workouts plus a dog walk but the average I burn when I bust it out is between 450-600.  Just a nice perspective to have since although I am losing weight it is SLOW. 

TRIATHLON PREP

I am beginning my triathlon packing for the weekend since we are leaving tomorrow night to stay overnight at the triathlon location.  I have a full page of lists of everything I absolutely cannot forget! I divided it up into categories of bike, swim, run packing lists and then miscellaneous items.  I also need to pack up a cooler with some peanut butter/bread for my breakfast morning of, some waters and powerade, and some other food so we can have a few picnics rather than eating out for every meal.

I plan to get in about 2 hours of studying this morning for my ACE personal training certification exam.   After this week I have about 2 weeks left to study and it is going to be MANY hours of the day.  I want to pass the test the FIRST time!

BLOG BUSINESS

I started this blog as a way to document my training for my sprint triathlon but it has turned into so much more! I have had a few people ask me if I am going to continue blogging after my sprint triathlon this weekend.  YOU BET I AM!! And I hope you will all continue to read as I work to obtain my ACE personal training certification, continue my fitness adventures, attempt to final get my diet in order, and all my adventures in general.

I will be making some fun updates to my blog once the triathlon is over and I have some more time to focus on it, including moving to my own domain.  I hope you will all continue to visit my site, and if you like my blog, please pass the link to others! I would love to grow my readership.

If there is something specific you are interested in seeing on the blog please let me know too! More recipes, more workouts, more dog pictures, more details on my glamorous life of cleaning up dog poop and wearing yellow rubber gloves, etc please let me know!

And keep the comments coming!! Nothing makes my day more than getting an awesome comment or email from a reader. 

I will be blogging today and tomorrow but after that I probably won’t be back until Sunday with a race update.   Keep coming back for more!!

August 5 2009 005 HAHA I’m such a dork!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jason From Maine permalink
    September 24, 2009 1:32 pm

    Good luck Court – you’re going to have a blast! Remember to warm up before the swim (I did with a prerace swim, but not nearly long enough).

    Looking forward to the results….See ya!

    Jason From Maine

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 24, 2009 3:26 pm

      Thanks Jason from Maine! I am nervous but excited…hope to have an awesome race recap on Sunday night for everyone!

      Courtney

  2. Jen permalink
    September 24, 2009 2:38 pm

    Biggest loser – I don’t watch it but have heard that once off tv and away from the trainers that the contestents usually put back on a significant amount of weight. Weight loss should be done slowly as you change habits and adopt a healthy lifestyle. Once those changes are made, a healthy weight can be recognized and more importantly, maintained.

    Good luck on Sunday. You’ve got the training, the tools and now go kick some ass.

    Congrats Court, so proud of you!!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 24, 2009 3:28 pm

      There are parts of the Biggest Loser I don’t like…I think having it be a competition is a two edged sword..it motivates some people, but I think for some people after the competition part is over it is hard to go back. I would never recommend someone to try and burn 6,000 calories a day! But in the case of some of these contestants who weigh 450 pounds, this is a chance for them to get some real help, but of course it is up to them to maintain that lifestyle. I hope the Biggest Loser provides some kind of after show support to them!
      Thanks for the luck….can’t wait to get this show on the road!
      Courtney

  3. Menden @ Skinny Menny permalink
    September 24, 2009 3:24 pm

    Yay, I’m so excited for you!! Best of luck on the triathlon…I’m really impressed by you!

    I just skipped the first part of your post, as I didn’t have a chance to watch TBL yet 🙂 But I heard that they work out like 8 hours a day in order to drop the weight so quickly – cah-razy, right?!?

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 24, 2009 3:29 pm

      Thanks! I hope you are still impressed with me on Sunday after my race report!! Hee hee!!

      I think some of them work out more than 8 hours because they show them in the gym at like 10:30 at night!

      Courtney

  4. Laura permalink
    September 24, 2009 4:25 pm

    Good Luck Courtney! I’m sure you’ll be great in your race this weekend! I can’t wait to hear the results!!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 24, 2009 7:11 pm

      Thanks Laura!! Make sure to check back for the full report!

  5. September 24, 2009 4:34 pm

    GOOD LUCK From Mom and Dad! Your goal is fantastic, reachable and a catalyst for motivating others! You are great:)

  6. September 24, 2009 5:09 pm

    Good luck! I’m so excited for you–you’re going to go great! And so glad you’re going to continue blogging. 🙂

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 24, 2009 7:10 pm

      Thanks!! I hope I do ok…really, I just hope I finish!!!

      Glad you like the blog…hope you keep reading!

Leave a Reply

