Skip to content

Autumn is here!

September 23, 2009

Yay, it is the first full day of autumn! Although we still have some summery weather around here as far as temperatures and humidity go.  And the summer weather is supposed to hold through the end of this week which is fine with me as I would prefer it for my triathlon this weekend. The weather reports have been all over the place…first they are saying rain for Sunday, now I just read no rain until later.  I’m only nervous about rain for the bike portion.  Slippery…me wearing glasses…just doesn’t seem like a good combo does it!

Last night I attended a nutrition seminar at my trainer’s studio put on by Jennifer Glacken of Glacken Health and Wellness.  She packed a LOT of info into a one hour presentation and I really enjoyed it.  One of the most interesting parts of the presentation was when she pulled out an old McDonald’s bag that was starting to disintegrate.  She had the bag since 2001 and inside was the remnants of a cheeseburger that had been in the bag since 2001.  The burger, bun and cheese were all mostly intact, no mold, still looking basically like a cheeseburger.  THAT IS DISGUSTING!! This cheeseburger was 8 years old and no mold? What the heck are they putting in that food to keep it from spoiling?  She says she keeps in the garage and never has had any animals or anything try to get at it.  Guess animals are smarter than us.

I want to go over more of what I learned at the seminar and maybe get a guest post from Jennifer in the future so please stay tuned.

When I got home I had two great things waiting for me:

100_2027

My new Clean Eating magazine. This is a fairly new publication full of healthy and delicious recipes and tips.  It is a great companion to my Oxygen magazine that I receive each month.

And my dog.  I was standing there talking to my husband and kind of kneeling on a bench in our bedroom when Prince decided it looked like a cozy spot and hopped up.  What a goof!!!

100_2028

 

I’m under attack by chipmunks on my deck! I put out a new bird feeder on my deck and the chipmunks have taken over! Since Sunday they have almost emptied the feeder.  Little buggers climb it like monkeys!  Look how full his little cheeks are! My dogs stare out the window at Alvin, Simon and Theodore and just beg to be let out to get them!!

100_2026   100_2025

 

Today I have a business meeting I need to attend this afternoon so I’m planning on studying this morning and going to my meeting and then hopefully taking the bike for a spin.  I picked the bike up from the bike shop after they performed a race check on it and I’m all ready! NERVOUS!!!

Check back later bloggy friends!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 8:20 pm

    Ewwww how in the world did that burger not have mold? WOW soooo not eating there ever again! haha

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 23, 2009 10:51 pm

      Honestly, it was one of the most disturbing things I have ever seen!

Leave a Reply

