Skip to content

2016 Chicago Olympics

September 22, 2009

Right now in the Chicagoland area there is a LOT of buzz because in 10 days the announcement of where the 2016 Olympics will be held and Chicago is in the running.  When I first heard about this a year ago or so, my first thought was NO!  It would be inconvenient and bring tons of people here to clog up an already crowded area.  Even though I don’t live in Chicago, but in the NW suburbs, it will still affect us.  There are events that would take place out where I live especially equestrian events. 

I have now come around to the idea as I think it will create jobs and bring a sense of excitement to the area.  What do my Chicago area readers think?  Are you excited to have the Olympics here if we win the bid? Or are you dreading it?  If you don’t live in Illinois, will you travel here to witness the Olympics if Chicago wins the bid? I would love to be involved in some way and will look forward to the opportunities it may bring my way if we win.

TRAINING

I did NOT end up working out yesterday.  My mind and my body were saying no, and that generally means I need one more day of rest.  I have now had 3 days off from exercise and plan to get back to it today.  I need to get in the pool and get some swim time in as I prepare for my sprint triathlon this coming weekend.  I also would like to run a bit, so I will probably put my swimsuit on under my clothes and run on the treadmill as practice and then get in the pool and do some laps.

I have been getting GREAT advice from my friends and connections who have done triathlon events in the past and I am starting to create my packing list and get my thoughts together about how the day is going to go.  Anyone out there who is reading and has some advice for me as I complete my first sprint triathlon PLEASE leave me a comment!

Tonight I have a nutrition seminar at my training studio.  It is titled “Nutrition for Dummies” and a nutritionist will be talking about how to stay healthy and eat right with a busy life.  I am really looking forward to getting some insight and will be reporting back on the seminar tomorrow.

I leave you with some pics of my lazy dogs.

Prince was SO lazy he couldn’t even stand to eat the other night!! I have never seen such a thing.

100_1968

Georgie was tired but happy!

100_1970

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    September 23, 2009 4:56 pm

    Keep the olympics as far away as possible. I have no interest.

  2. September 24, 2009 1:44 am

    LOL, omg – Prince is too funny!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

