Skip to content

Reunion Recap and Taper Week (long post!!)

September 21, 2009

I’m baaaaaack!  It was a long and fun weekend, and now I’m getting ready to focus on triathlon prep for this coming weekend.

Let’s review!

Friday night I didn’t sleep very well, I had nightmares about the triathlon! Woke up early Saturday and headed to O’Hare airport and picked up Molly.  We headed up towards Green Bay and as soon as we pulled into Seymour we just HAD to get out and get a pic.

100_1971

Yep, this is my hometown! I arrived!

We hung out and then walked to my place of employment all through high school, Dairy Queen. I ate about half a small blizzard.  Didn’t take a pic though, darn!

Molly and I got ready for the reunion and then the photo shoot began.

100_1972   100_1973

100_1979   100_1981

 

Off we went to the reunion! My nice hubby was the camera holder all night and to be honest I didn’t take too many pictures.  I was too busy chatting and catching up with old friends! I drank MGD 64 all night, so hopefully I didn’t consume TOO many alcohol calories.  But I did enjoy the beer.  However, I did ok on eating most of the weekend.  I had half the small blizzard and also had a couple of beers (ok, maybe more than that) but overall did ok on the eating front.

Here is me and my friend Angie from high school and roomie all through college! Was so great to see her and her hubby!

100_1995

Friends!!

100_1985   100_1986

Dance floor antics

100_1999   100_1998

Thanks to the committee for putting it all together!

We got home Sunday and I quick threw together some chili in the crockpot and we relaxed and watched some football.

Chili:

1.25 lbs lean ground beef

1 can crushed tomato

1 large can chili beans

assorted spices: crushed red pepper, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder

condiments: greek yogurt, shredded cheese

100_2001  100_2002

100_2003

 

Right now I’m sitting down and prepping my schedule for the week.  The triathlon is Sunday so I don’t have any crazy workouts planned but I need to pack, get organized, do some projects, get some workouts in, make some training plans, etc etc.  Please stay tuned this week as I lead up to my big event!

Congrats to Molly’s brother Matt who completed the Fox Valley Marathon on Sunday (his first) and then proposed to his girlfriend Bambi at the finish line! She said yes!  Congrats to you both!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mags permalink
    September 21, 2009 1:55 pm

    Hey Court – I have been sneaking extra veggies into my chili for years – try to add some sweet potato puree, beet puree (you have to add extra red though cause otherwise it turns pinkish…hee hee), cauliflower puree, chickpea puree, or something like that – a little extra veggie and the chili tastes the same (or better)! When Eric’s friends come over and watch some football they rave about it.
    xo, Maggie

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 21, 2009 3:21 pm

      I know, I didn’t even put onions or fresh garlic in this batch since I was in a hurry! But those tips are great. One I like is to sneak shredded carrots into meatloaf. I think it makes it taste even better!
      Courtney

  2. September 21, 2009 4:58 pm

    LOL – home of the hamburger, I love it! 🙂

  3. September 21, 2009 5:59 pm

    Looks like you had a wonderfultime at the reunion! 🙂 That’s so exciting that the triathlon is on Sunday. Definitely take it easy this week–you’re going to do great!

  4. christina permalink
    September 21, 2009 6:03 pm

    First of all… you come from the home of the hamburger? AWESOME.

    I’m so excited for your tri this wekeend. I’ll send you via email my list of things that I pack.

Leave a Reply

