Skip to content

Adventure in the Marsh

September 17, 2009

I left my house with a snack of an apple packed and my cooler stocked with cold water.  I was ready to hit the 9 mile loop with my pals on the bike and then run.  But just as I started driving I got a text that neither friend could make it.   ;<

I didn’t want to drive all the way to the 9 mile loop since I know there are some undiscovered trails near by so I decided to take this opportunity to go on a little adventure and find a trail I had heard about called Cuba Marsh.

I found it and it was beautiful!  The trail was a very powdery crushed gravel though, so I would not use it for the road bike again, but might bring my mountain bike there.  I was able to ride about 6 miles, at a slow pace though because the trail seemed slippery…that’s all I need is to fall a week before the race!

The ride was beautiful.  There were tons of birds and chipmunks.  Lots of cool birds I don’t know the name of, have to get a bird book.

There was a long, winding wooden bridge that led to the marsh.  So cool!

100_1962   100_1963

 

100_1966   100_1965

TRAINING STATS

Approx 6 miles

36 mins

204 calories

118 average HR

151 high HR

 

Then I got back to my car and dropped the bike off and headed out on a run.  SO MUCH BETTER today than Tuesday! Even though I had a long sleeve shirt on, I was nice and cool.  Only problem was my lower back felt sore and crampy on and off again.  I’m guessing it is a result of crouching over on the bike and then jumping off and running.  So I did walk a little bit throughout but mostly ran a nice steady 3.2 miles.  I didn’t do it fast, but I don’t expect to at the tri.

TRAINING STATS

3.2 miles

36 mins

400 calories

161 average HR

177 high HR

 

This is one of my last big workouts before the tri.  I will doing a little bit of a taper next week so I’m fresh.

I dropped off the bike at the bike shop after my ride for a “race check” and can pick it up tomorrow YAY!

I have some laundry and chores to do and I’m training 2 clients tonight so I better get cracking.

See you later bloggies!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. christina permalink
    September 17, 2009 8:16 pm

    yeah….!!!! I’m so excited for you! : )
    Call me if you want tips on what to bring… like a squirt bottle to wash off your feet… or a race belt. Do you have bike shorts? Are you wearing them in the water?

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 17, 2009 10:28 pm

      Yes, I will be emailing you next week for a packing list for SURE!!!!!!!!!

  2. September 17, 2009 11:06 pm

    I am so excited to read about your race! I am training for my first tri. Your blog is great motivation!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 18, 2009 1:25 pm

      Emily, I tried to post a comment on your blog but it wouldn’t let me :<
      Hope you check back!
      Here is what I put:
      Thank you for commenting on my blog! Let me know if you want to exchange training tips! I'm getting so nervous and excited for my tri next weekend…I just hope it all goes according to plan!
      I think I might be in love with your dog! I skimmed your blog last night and the expressions on his face are the best!!
      Courtney
      Adventures in Tri-ing

  3. September 21, 2009 5:46 pm

    That looks like a super fun workout! Great job!

Leave a Reply

