Skip to content

I got hit with a brick!

September 15, 2009

A brick workout that is!!

Today I attempted to do a brick workout of biking and running. 

Before I left the house, I ate half this Power Bar that I got in my goody bag from the Freedom Race.  It was actually pretty good..the chemical aftertaste these bars used to have was missing.  However I only ate half because it had 230 calories, that is a little high.  I should have eaten the whole thing though because I was hungry half way through my workout!

100_1948

The workout was NOT too successful.

I started the bike ride having to stop and adjust because the front wheel was wonky.  Bugs were flying in my mouth, it was really hot, I had to pee and just all around ugh. But I got in the groove and did my six miles.

TRAINING STATS

25 minutes

6 miles

224 calories

138 average HR

154 high HR

Then I jumped off the bike and threw it in my car.  I RAN for the porta potty.  Ugh.  I would never have used it if there weren’t 2 cops sitting right by it! I’m always thinking there are killers hiding in the porta pottys!

Then I took off on my run.  Immediately felt like I was running slow motion underwater.  It was just not happening.  It was super hot, I was hungry and thirsty and just not feeling it.  So I ended up doing 2.5 miles of some running and some walking.  I’m hoping it is just the heat that made me have a workout that is not that great.

TRAINING STATS

35 minutes

2.5 miles

328 calories

150 average HR

171 high HR

 

Lunch made up for everything!!!! I made a Pumpkin Chicken Roll up.

I used a whole grain tortilla and spread my leftover pumpkin from my muffins on it.  Then I layered some Boar’s Head chicken and one slice of brick cheese.  I heated it up in the microwave, rolled and OH MY GOODNESS!!!!!  It tastes delish.  Had a huge side of green beans with the usual sea salt, olive oil, garlic powder condiments.

100_1949   100_1950

 

100_1951   100_1952

 

All together!

100_1953

 

RIP Patrick Swayze…Dirty Dancing is my favorite movie of all time and I will always have a little place in my heart for Johnny Castle!!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    September 16, 2009 3:00 pm

    “Nobody puts baby in the corner. ”

    As far as your run – we all have days like that. The heat is a nasty, nasty thing. The key is to not let one bad run throw off the rest of the week.

Leave a Reply

