Skip to content

I wish you could smell my kitchen!

September 11, 2009

So this morning I headed to the gym and took Body Combat.

Oh yeah!  I’m probably going to have some sore shoulders tomorrow.  Tons of jabs, hooks, upper cuts, front kicks, roundhouses and back kicks.  OH BABY BABY! Loved it, lots of nice ladies, I will be back for sure!

Then I stopped home, changed, took a quick rinse and headed to see my trainer.  Hit the treadmill for a walking incline warmup and then we did some butt kicking circuits.

TRAINING STATS

#1) Body Combat Class

60 mins

449 calories

138 average HR

178 max HR

#2) Treadmill set at incline of 3%

1.17 miles, 20 minutes

151 calories

134 average HR

150 max HR

#3) Circuits

41 minutes

399 calories

152 average HR

178 max HR

 

You would think I would be a supermodel with all those workouts right? NOPE, scale was stuck today.  I have to admit, I was FRUSTRATED!!!  But, nothing to do but move on and hope to get it going back down again.

 

Now I just made some pumpkin muffins for my parents tomorrow before the Freedom Run.  I tweaked a recipe I found in Cooking Light by reducing the sugar and flour, adding some oats and adding more egg whites, and substituting fat free greek yogurt for sour cream.

COURTNEY’S FLUFFY PUMPKIN MUFFINS

Preheat oven to 375.  This recipe makes approx 18 muffins.  Grease tins or use liners.

Dry ingredients:

2 cups flour

3/4 cup oats

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon (I also used dashes of nutmeg and cloves since I had those)

1/2 tsp salt

Mix together in a bowl.

Wet ingredients:

1/2 cup fat free greek yogurt

1/4 cup fat free milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 whole egg, plus 2 egg whites

1 cup canned pumpkin

Mix with a stand mixer or electric beaters until combined.

Add in dry ingredients 1/3 at a time.

Mix until combined and put in muffin tins.  Sprinkle tops with brown sugar.  I also sprinkled about half with pecan pieces.  Cook for approx. 25 minutes.

If I would have followed Cooking Light recipe exactly, the muffins have 164 cals and 3.5 grams of fat each.  With the substitutions/additions I made, I think the muffins ended up a little healthier especially with the addition of the oats and dialing down of the sugar.

They cooked up fluffy and big and taste DELISH!! Perfect for fall.  Enjoy!

Check back tomorrow for a recap of the FREEDOM RUN!

100_1889   100_1891

100_1892   100_1893

100_1894   100_1895

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 13, 2009 10:55 pm

    I wish I could smell it too! 🙂 Looks delicious! Pumpkin and fall – two of my favorites 🙂

Leave a Reply

