Skip to content

Soup for breakfast and 3 training mistakes

September 3, 2009

Yes, I had soup for breakfast! People always rave about “breakfast for dinner,” well, I like dinner for breakfast!  I knew I had a long day ahead of me and needed some fuel, so I heated up a bowl of my spicy taco soup and made some yum yums (toasted tortilla bits) on the side.  I topped it with some tasty globs of greek yogurt.

100_1825

Yum yums cooking up in the toaster oven”

100_1826

Altogether now!

100_1827

I also cooked a pot of hardboiled eggs while I was eating, we can munch on these or toss on salads all weekend.

100_1823 

After breakfast there was some serious power cleaning going on, then I got ready to go meet Tammy and Kate for a bike ride.  We did one 9 mile loop together, then I bid them farewell and went on a second 9 mile loop alone.  That first loop was a good warmup, my heart rate was up quite a bit for the second go round!

Training Stats

Round 1:

9 miles

50 minutes

405 calories

139 average HR

177 max HR

Round 2:

9 miles

45 minutes

448 calories

155 average HR

177 max HR

The bike ride was great, however I made 3 rookie mistakes that I should know better!!!

#1) Went into my ride a little hungry, and didn’t bring any snacks with.  95 minutes and 18 miles later I was starving and ready to chew my own arm off.

#2) I wore a t-shirt rather than a more skintight shirt, and I could really feel the extra drag against the wind holding me back a little in my performance.  Bikers wear the tight clothes for a reason!

#3) I did not bend my arms enough while I was riding, must have been stiff arming it a lot of the time because my neck and shoulders ACHE!

I will not make these same mistakes next time!

I got home and showered and got ready and my hubby took me out for an anniversary lunch at the Onion in Barrington.  Well, we ate at 4:00 PM so it was really lunch and dinner for me.  We wanted to eat outside since it was so nice and there was a beautiful deck.

100_1828

Anniversary LOVE

100_1829

Cool facts on the water glasses:

100_1830

 

I’m off to train some clients tonight!  Busy busy busy day but that’s good because we have a long weekend ahead for relaxing!

G’night bloggies, check back tomorrow for some weekend fun!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 11:15 pm

    I love dinner for breakfast–my favorite is cold leftover pizza! 🙂

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 4, 2009 1:19 am

      Oh yes! Pizza is great too!

  2. livelaughloveandrun permalink
    September 4, 2009 1:47 am

    I’m the complete opposite. I could eat breakfast for every meal and be a very happy camper.

Leave a Reply

