Skip to content

Scrambled Eggs and an attitude adjustment

September 2, 2009

So I’m still in a semi-funk, but I am doing my best to break out of it by positive thinking, actions, and exercise!

After I left you last, I decided to make myself a tasty breakfast. I make the BEST scrambled eggs.  My brother Eric can attest to this.  When I lived with Eric for a month last summer while we waited to close on our house, he was working night shift so he would get home from work in the morning and I would make him breakfast and then he would go to bed and I would go to work.  He always begged to get some of my delicious scrambled eggs.

 

The key to my eggs is low cooking temp!  Use medium low to cook the eggs and once they look almost done, shut off the heat and remove the pan from the heat.

This morning I used 3 egg whites and 2 yolks.  Normally I would only use 2 eggs for myself but these were medium eggs and quite small.  Then I added a splash of skim milk, and some salt and pepper.  I whisked the eggs with a fork for a minute and sprayed the pan with non stick spray.  I heated up the pan over medium heat for approx 2 minutes while I prepped the eggs.  Then I added the eggs to the pan and pushed them around with a spatula.  I added about 2 tablespoons of garlic and herb goat cheese to the pan and continued to cook over medium low until done.

In the meantime I also heated up about half cup of previously cooked ground turkey and topped with salsa.  I put about 3/4 cup of grapes on the side and dug in.  MMMMMMM

100_1814

 

After that I took each dog for a 30 minute walk.  Felt really good to get back out on my country routes and breathe in the fresh air, and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Stats from walk:

56 minutes

approx. 2.5 miles

252 cals

107 average HR

138 max HR

 

After this dog walk I had a small snack as it was around 11:45 and I was heading out of the house.  I had 1/2 a serving of these crackers and a little white bean hummus:

100_1815

Love Trader Joe’s!!!

Then I headed out and joined a new gym with an indoor pool.  It is a really really nice gym and I hit the pool as soon as I signed the papers.  I swam .5 of a mile.  Did pretty good, didn’t feel too bad especially considering I haven’t swam in about 2.5 weeks!

Training Stats:

25 minutes

.5 miles

175 cals

136 average HR

154 max HR

This gym has tons of fun classes including this one I cannot WAIT to take:

BODYCOMBAT: The workout with a punch! This high-energy, cardio training class combines moves from a range of martial arts disciplines.

FUN! Sounds like some punching and kicking is in my future…I need it!

Now I’m home and I’m going to have a small snack and chill for a bit before I tackle the rest of my to do list for the week.

I forgot to put this on my Monday post.  Here is my TRIATHLON training plan for this week:

Monday- strength, run 4 miles (done)

Tuesday-bike 9 miles (done)

Wednesday-swim .5 miles (done)

Thursday-bike 9 miles

Friday-swim .5 miles, strength

Saturday-run 5 miles

Here is another teaser of what tomorrow is:

Courtney and Dad

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

