Skip to content

Spicy Taco Soup and Training Stats

September 1, 2009

I got back into my workout routine with a bang yesterday!

I headed over to Fitness Together a little early and warmed up a little on the treadmill and banged out 2 miles of running.

Stats:

28 minutes

2.33 miles

285 cals

157 average HR

184 max HR

Then my trainer put me through a great and punishing workout, lots of arms and shoulders.

44 minutes

461 cals

162 average HR

185 max HR

Then I jumped back on the treadmill for some more running.  At this point my body was a little tired so I did the old 3’s and 2’s workout (run 3 minutes, walk 2).  Did 2 more miles of this and a cooldown.

34 minutes

2.22 miles

328 cals

158 average HR

174 max HR

So I managed to burn a lot of calories and get back in to the groove with a bang!

I grabbed my big calendar and I started filling it in, it is still pretty blank but will be full of training and studying appointments by the end of the week.

100_1800

 

When I eventually got home and finished errands and laundry I decided to start up some soup in the crockpot.

I grabbed 2 frozen chicken breasts and put them in the crockpot and covered them with about a cup of fresh salsa I picked up at Trader Joe’s and put it on high for a few hours.

100_1801

I gathered my other ingredients.

100_1802   100_1803

 

After the chicken cooked for about 2 hours I put the box of broth, one can black beans, one can corn (both cans drained and rinsed), about another 1/2 cup salsa and some crushed red pepper and some garlic powder and mixed.

100_1804

I let the soup cook on high for another 2 hours and pulled out the chicken breasts and shredded them up and put them back in the crockpot.  I also added about 2 tablespoons of this:

100_1805

My hubby got home from softball and happily scarfed down two bowls!

This soup is great topped with a little greek yogurt and shredded cheese.

Courtney’s Spicy Taco Soup

2 chicken breasts

1 can corn (drained and rinsed)

1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)

2 cups salsa (or to taste)

Optional:

Crushed red pepper

Garlic powder

Giardiniera

If you use fresh, unfrozen chicken breasts combine all ingredients at once in crockpot and cook on high until chicken shreds easily.  Turn to low until ready to eat.

If you use frozen chicken breasts, cook chicken and salsa on high for 2 hours, then add the other ingredients and cook on high until chicken shreds easily.

Top with sour cream or greek yogurt, shredded cheese, additional salsa, or tortilla strips.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 5:53 pm

    what a great idea! that soup looks awesome and easy enough to do in the crock pot!
    and.. what a workout!!?!?!! That is crazy kcal burned, awesome job!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 1, 2009 7:14 pm

      It was such an easy soup! Took me a total of 5 minutes to pull it together and I can eat it all week. Great way to get some extra veggies and beans in to!

  2. September 3, 2009 1:03 pm

    Great workout! It is always tough for me to get back on the treadmill after a hard weight workout! Kudos to you for making it happen! : )

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      September 3, 2009 1:13 pm

      Thanks Stacy! It felt good after being less active during my vacation to really hit it hard! A little rest goes a long way…probably something I should keep in mind!! :>
      Courtney

Leave a Reply

