Skip to content

Turkey Enchiladas and Elvis Costello

August 31, 2009

I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaack!!  So happy to be home and see my husband and pups and get back on a healthy eating and exercising routine.  I had a blast on my road trip vacation with my fave people! I will miss them but know I will see them soon.

Molly drove me to the airport in Buffalo early yesterday morning and I had a very uneventful trip back to Chicago except for the fact that Elvis Costello was on my plane! Kind of cool to have a random celebrity sighting.  Of course he was in first class and I was way in the back! :>

My hubs picked me up at the airport and we headed home where I was mauled by my very happy dogs who thought I had permanently deserted them!

I immediately got to work making some turkey enchiladas to bring over to some friends who just had a baby.

Courtney’s Turkey Enchiladas

1 lb ground turkey

10 whole wheat tortillas

1 bag shredded cheese

2 cans of enchilada sauce

1 pack fat free (or low fat) cream cheese

taco seasoning

toppings of your choice…salsa, sour cream, onions, etc

100_1787   100_1788

 

I use a large pan and pour about 1/2 a can of enchilada sauce in the bottom of the pan to “grease” it.

Brown up the turkey and when it is almost cooked through add taco seasoning to taste and the cream cheese.  Cook on stovetop until cream cheese is melted.

100_1789   100_1790

 

I stopped taking pictures at this point, but you get the idea.  Once the meat is cooked and cream cheese is melted I put a few tablespoons of meat mixture into each tortilla, roll up and place in pan.  I was able to fit 10 in the pan with the amount of meat I had.  I then poured the one full can of enchilada sauce over the top and just a bit more from the half can.  Cover with the bag of cheese.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes or until bubbly and melty.

Makes a great quick meal to bring to a friend’s house or for a football party.  You can also make it even healthier by using fat free cheese on top.

As a reward for bringing enchiladas over, I got to hold baby Evan for a long time!

100_1792 SO CUTE!!!!!!!!!!

 

I have a list 10 miles long of things to accomplish over the next day.  Today includes a strength workout with my trainer to get back on track, then I will be detailing my study schedule for my trainer exam and finalizing my sprint triathlon training plan for the rest of September.  Check back later for updates on my to-do list!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 4:10 pm

    welcome back bloggie buddy….your kindness for others is like a rainbow after a rain shower—keep up the good works

  2. Rita permalink
    September 2, 2009 8:09 pm

    Courtney,YOu look good holding that baby…..

Leave a Reply

