Skip to content

Super Immunity Soup

August 17, 2009

When I feel a little under the weather, or just feel the need to get some more veggies in me, I make Courtney’s Super Immunity Soup.  My favorite part about this soup is you could make it vegetarian by using veggie broth, you can add a smoky bite by putting bacon bits or ham, or you can just make as is.  You can use what you have on hand.  I often add bits of leftover hummus or other veggies depending on what I have available.

Here is the base I started with and just kept adding things until I got the recipe where I wanted it:

August 17 2009 II 002

The ingredients in addition to the soup mix:

olive oil

crushed red pepper

garlic

2 small/medium onions

great northern beans

bag o spinach

chicken broth (or veggie broth or water)

frozen peas

August 17 2009 II 003

 

Splash some olive oil in a pot with the heat turned on low.  Add garlic to your own taste, I used about a tablespoon of crushed. Add red pepper flakes to taste.  Let this begin cooking as you open the beans and rinse and drain in a colander.

August 17 2009 II 004   August 17 2009 II 005

 

Add the rinsed and drained beans to the pot and turn the heat up to medium.  While this is cooking, cut the onions up into large chunks (it is all going in the blender so you don’t need to cut it up small).  Add the onions to the pot and stir.

August 17 2009 II 006   August 17 2009 II 007

 

Turn the heat up to medium high and add about one cup of the broth or water.  Then add the bag of spinach.  This may be too much spinach for some, you can start just using half a bag and then eventually add more.  Cover and cook until the spinach wilts down and the onions are soft.

August 17 2009 II 008  August 17 2009 II 009

 

The spinach filled my pot to the top before it wilted! Here is what it looked like after:

August 17 2009 II 010

 

Transfer this to the blender and let it cool off a bit. 

August 17 2009 II 013

 

While this cools, add the dry soup mix to the pot with the remainder of the chicken broth. Add the frozen peas (I used about half a bag) and stir.  Turn on high and let it boil.

August 17 2009 II 011  August 17 2009 II 012

 

Put the lid on the blender but NOT TIGHT!  I just barely hold the lid on the blender because the soup fixings are still hot and would blow the top off the blender!  Blend on low until it is a beautiful green puree.  I can just feel the health radiating from this picture!

August 17 2009 II 014

 

YUMMY!!!!!!!  Add this mixture to the rest of the soup in the pot, stir thoroughly and bring to a boil.  Stir often while it comes to a boil.  Have in a bowl with a dollop of greek yogurt or hummus.  Maybe crumble a few tortilla chips on top or dip some fresh naan in it.

I just ate a HUGE bowl of this for lunch and I feel great…it is filling and chock full of vitamins and antioxidants, not too mention fiber from the spinach, garlic, onions, peas and beans.

 

August 17 2009 II 015  August 17 2009 II 016

 

My goal is to eventually replicate the dried soup mix so that I don’t need to use it, but for now I really enjoy the mix of spices and dried veggies in the mix so I will use it.

Leave a Reply

