Skip to content

SHRIMPS!! RAIN!! REST DAYS!! OH MY!!

August 17, 2009

We went to see some friend’s on Saturday and BBQ and I brought Courtney’s Famous Pasta Salad and some shrimps.

Shrimp has such a great nutritional profile:

August 17 2009 010

I soaked some bamboo skewers in water for a bit so they wouldn’t burn on the grill and then skewered the shrimps.  I then used up the rest of the zippy buffalo rub on a plate and pressed each side of the shrimp skewers into the rub.  Once at our friend’s house we threw the shrimps on the grill for a few minutes on either side (the shrimp was pre-cooked).  WAS DELISH!!

August 17 2009 002   August 17 2009 003   August 17 2009 004

Final result:

August 17 2009 005

 

My rest day on Sunday was AWESOME!!  Much needed and much appreciated.  I’m ready to get back to training this week.  I’m finalizing my training schedule for the week and it will be a challenge to fit everything in and I will need to be flexible as it is supposed to rain off and on all week.  I need to fit in biking outdoors when I can.  I did find a pool I can swim at indoors that is kind of a drive, but I can pay as I go so that works out best.  Here is my schedule this week:

Monday- Run

Tuesday- Bike and Strength

Wednesday- Swim

Thursday- Bike and Strength

Friday-Swim

Saturday- Training run 5 miles

Sunday- Rest

That is my tentative plan for the week depending on weather.  I may not be able to fit the biking in…but feel confident in my bike training so far. 

I have finished the ACE personal trainer manual and now begin the review process for the test, so I will be busy with that this week too.

CHALLENGE

My challenge this week is going to fit in 5 servings of fruit and veggies each day.   I don’t have a problem with fruit, but need to make an effort with the veggies.

I’m also going to stay flexible with my workout plans and make sure I take the appropriate rest days.

Check back later today for my SUPER IMMUNITY SOUP recipe!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    August 17, 2009 4:20 pm

    I’m in on the challenge! I had a fruit smoothie for breakfast… looks like it will be salad for dinner. Will let you know how it goes!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      August 17, 2009 6:13 pm

      I had my super immunity soup for lunch and will be having some green beans and salad at dinner. Grapes for brekkie. I think I got all my servings!

Leave a Reply

