Skip to content

Chopping Block and Turkey Chili

August 3, 2009

Ugh, I feel like I might be coming down with something and my body is trying to fight it off.  My ear hurts, my throat is scratchy and my lymph nodes in my throat are swollen and working overtime to keep the sick away!  So I decided to cancel my regularly scheduled strength workout with my trainer today and am hoping to rest up and get a run in later.

I start Week 10 of my personal trainer certification studies today!  That means I have 3 total weeks of studying left and then will be giving myself about 2 weeks to review the material before the exam.  I hope to schedule my exam soon.

Since I’m not feeling great, and the weather is not cooperating with what it says on the calendar, today is the perfect day for turkey chili! Usually I don’t start making this until football season, it is a Sunday staple around my house.  You can use ground turkey, ground chicken or ground beef.  I stocked up on the ground turkey at CostCo this weekend so I was excited to cook up a batch in the crockpot.  This will give me a delicious and nutritious option for my lunches and dinners the rest of the week, and hopefully the vitamins and antioxidants in the tomato sauce, garlic and onions will kick any lingering sick out of me!

Ingredients:

Pre chopped onion, ground turkey, crushed tomato, chili beans, garlic, chili powder, cumin, crushed red pepper

Pre chopped onion, ground turkey, crushed tomato, chili beans, garlic, chili powder, cumin, crushed red pepper

 

Normally I like to cut up some fresh garlic but had none on hand.  Luckily I always keep some precrushed garlic on hand in the fridge..this was from Trader Joe’s.

Cooking vessel:

August 3 2009 003

Splash of olive oil in a pan plus about a cup of chopped onion, a teaspoon or so of garlic, crushed red pepper (lots!)

August 3 2009 004

 

While the onions softened up I put the can of tomatoes, can of beans, cumin and chili powder in the crockpot and mixed. You can use cumin and chili powder to taste and you may have to add some later during the cooking.

August 3 2009 005

 

Once the onions were done I dumped them in the crockpot and then put the turkey right into the pan:

August 3 2009 006      August 3 2009 007

 

All together now, I will let this cook all day and dip into it for some lunch.  I will top it with, (what else!!) some greek yogurt!

August 3 2009 015

 

While the turkey was cooking, I got out the chopping block for some pineapple cutting.  My dogs LOVE citrus fruit and the minute their noses smell it they come a running:

August 3 2009 014

 

This weekend at CostCo while I was going through the checkout with my massive pineapple, the checkout boy asked how to cut a pineapple.  He may have just been thinking out loud but I told him exactly how to do it!! The first time I bought a whole pineapple I had NO IDEA how to get into it.  Who was the first brave human to crack into a pineapple! So I looked up videos on the internet of how to cut a pineapple.  Yep, everything is on the internet.  Here are the instructions on how to cut a fresh pineapple…it is worth it, so delicious and cheaper when they are in season!

Cut the ends off, then stand on end.  Slice the sides off the pineapple. Quarter the pineapple and then cut the core out of each quarter.  Slice into long pieces and then into smaller chunks.  VOILA!

August 3 2009 008  August 3 2009 009

August 3 2009 010   August 3 2009 011

August 3 2009 012   August 3 2009 013

 

Enjoy! I will see you later for my falafel balls and dip experiment!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

