Skip to content

Courtney’s Colorful Bean Salad

July 28, 2009

I was trying to think of something I could make that would be versatile and I could munch on for the rest of the week.  I came up with a colorful bean salad that I can eat plain, on a salad, on a sweet potato, even in a wrap.  I used garbanzo and black beans, but any substitutions could be made.

My ingredients:

July 28 2009 002

Garlic powder, crushed red pepper, small onion, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, garbanzo and black beans, corn, balsamic vinegar and olive oil.  I ended up substituting Trader Joes 21 seasoning salute for the crushed red pepper and I also used some plain white vinegar in addition.  I also used kosher salt and pepper (not shown)

First I dumped the 2 cans of beans and the corn into a colander in the sink and rinsed it all off.  This reduces sodium from canning and also premixes the beans and corn…handy!

July 28 2009 003

While the corn and beans drained, I chopped up half a cucumber into rounds and then sticks, diced a small onion, and quartered about a handful of tomatoes.  You will notice in my recipes I often don’t measure…I just go by looks and taste.  Only in baking am I exact as that is more of a science experiment where you have to be right on with measurements or face disappointment!

July 28 2009 004

Into this mix I put the salt and pepper, some garlic powder, 21 seasoning salute, a splash of balsamic vinegarette, a splash of olive oil and some regular vinegar and stirred.   I added the corn and bean mixture and stirred some more and adjusted the seasoning by adding a little more garlic powder and bit more vinegar.  Now it is marinating in the fridge ready for me to gobble for lunch!

July 28 2009 005        July 28 2009 006

Mmmmm! Full of fiber, veggies, protein, carbs and a little healthy fat.  What a tasty treat!

Today I did my studying and now I’m going to walk down to the pool for my first day of swim training.  I’m nervous! Not sure why, maybe because it is a new activity, out of my comfort zone.  I don’t want to look like a big dork.  Yes, I’m 33 and I am still a little worried.  But this is my dream I’m pursuing, so I just keep reminding myself that no one is judging me but myself.  And if someone else IS judging me then that is their problem!!!  (good pep talk)

We figured out that 16 laps would be .5 miles in the pool I’m using and that is the distance for the sprint tri I’m participating in.  I’m hoping to get in a total of 8 laps today, I’m guessing with some rest in between! I also hope to wear my heart rate monitor so I have some stats to report later.

Ok, go out there and chase a dream…why not!!!!!!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    July 29, 2009 1:37 am

    Bean salad looks great… I actually eat beans about 2-3 times a week for lunch… cheap and easy! But now I want to try this bean salad! Looks tasty!
    I’m so excited to see how your swim was today. I went to a local campground at lunch today and swam in my wet suit. People were out with their kids playing in the water and looking at me like “why is this crazy lady putting on a wetsuit?!, the water isn’t that cold” But I ignored them and made the swim! It was humid and almost 85 today… so swimming, wetsuit or not, is the perfect lunchtime exercize!

  2. courtlove111 permalink*
    July 29, 2009 2:12 am

    Dude, you are my swimming inspiration! I ended up doing 10 laps, alternated some crawl and some breast stroke. So I think I did a little over .25 of a mile. I got sunburnt.

    Beans, beans, the magical fruit! It is my fave! I had it for lunch. I took a whole wheat tortilla, spread some goat cheese on it, slapped some bean salad on it, and mmmmm.

  3. July 29, 2009 2:41 pm

    YUM!!! that salad looks delicious – AND EASY – my two favorite description in a dinner! 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

  4. courtlove111 permalink*
    July 29, 2009 3:35 pm

    The salad is so versatile, and tastes even better when it has been in the fridge for a day or so! Enjoy!

  5. Beth permalink
    July 30, 2009 2:44 pm

    Hi Courtney – Christina sent me your blog. I read all your posts and love your health and fitness tips. I am a wellness nut and am always looking for new insipration.

    Your bean salad looks very yummy! I am going to give it a try this weekend.

    Beth (Christina’s mom)

  6. Juanita permalink
    August 4, 2009 1:37 am

    Sooooo I manager to make Courtney’s colorful bean salad and surprisingly it came out very delicious!!!! Thank you Courtney

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      August 4, 2009 1:54 pm

      Awesome Juanita!! I’m glad you enjoyed it….

Leave a Reply

