Skip to content

Slump Buster Week!

July 27, 2009

Well, I certainly had an active morning! I studied for about an hour, did some chores around the house and went to pick up the bike from the bike shop.  I then headed to my trainer’s studio and did about 30 minute warmup.  I did 16 minutes of hill walking on the treadmill and then did 11 minutes on the elliptical.  After I finished that I had the HARDEST workout I’ve ever had with my trainer! Jump squats on the step, drop sets of lat pull downs and incline chest presses, reverse lunge with a knee up punches and kicks weighted, just a few of the butt kicking exercises I did today.  I left there and went to the forest preserve dying to try out the bike!  I strapped on my helmet and did 9 miles.  Felt soooo good! But I will say that the one good thing about a mountain bike vs. a road bike is the suspension on a mountain bike.  I felt EVERY bump on the trail.  I’m sure I will get used to it though. 

My stats for today:  107 minutes, 1163 calories

This may seem like a lot of exercise, and for the average person it is.  Obviously not everyone ahs time to work out that much.  I consider exercise to be my “part-time job” right now as I try to get in great shape to become a personal trainer.  This is why I’m devoting as much time as I can to exercise without injuring myself or burning out.  I will probably play some tennis tonight with my husband and although I will clock those minutes too, I consider that my “fun time.”

After all the exercise fun I went to the grocery store and stocked up for myself and the hubs for the week.   I spent $70:

Here is my haul:

Fage, tomatoes, cherries, raspberries, eggs, cucumbers, pineapple, salad, beans etc

Fage, tomatoes, cherries, raspberries, eggs, cucumbers, pineapple, salad, beans etc

 

July 27 2009 II 003

salad, garbanzo beans x 2, chili beans, corn

salad, garbanzo beans x 2, chili beans, corn

Here are the goodies I got for my husband:

juice, cottage cheese, frozen pizzas, little debbies, deli turkey and corned beef, brick cheese, gummi bears, whole wheat bread

juice, cottage cheese, frozen pizzas, little debbies, deli turkey and corned beef, brick cheese, gummi bears, whole wheat bread

I have some tasty recipe ideas from the groceries I picked up, so stay tuned!!

As for the “slump buster” in my title, I’ve been trying to break a weight plateau for about 2 weeks now, so I cranking up the intesity and variety of exercise this week and really watching my food intake and trying to eat clean.  Hopefully I can make a breakthrough by my weigh in on Friday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. christina permalink
    July 29, 2009 1:30 am

    You need to get yourself some bike shorts. That will help cushion you girl parts when you’re on the bike!

  2. courtlove111 permalink*
    July 29, 2009 2:16 am

    I have some bike shorts but the seat on the bike is great! So I just have to get used to it I think!

Leave a Reply

