Skip to content

Courtney’s Caprese Chicken

July 23, 2009

Mmmm…tasty dinner tonight!

I cut some chicken breasts open and pounded them a little flatter with a rolling pin.  In the meantime I used about a tablespoon of olive oil to saute some garlic, cherry tomatoes, crushed red pepper and about 3 cups of spinach.  I cut up a few pieces of fresh mozzarella and placed that on the chicken breast, then covered it with the sauteed tomato/spinach mixture.  Cooked at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes. I made up some spaghetti pasta for the hubby to have alongside the chicken.  I also used the leftover pan juices mixed with some flour and milk to make a delicious and creamy sauce to put over the chicken.  The hubby gave it a big thumbs up!  Here is the recipe process in pictures:

garlic, olive oil, crushed red pepper

garlic, olive oil, crushed red pepper

 

Ingredients (I swapped the goat cheese for the leftover mozzarella)

Ingredients (I swapped the goat cheese for the leftover mozzarella)

 

cut open chix with kitchen shears

cut open chix with kitchen shears

 

halved cherry tomatoes...probably about 1/2 a cup

halved cherry tomatoes...probably about 1/2 a cup

 

spinach-about 3 cups

spinach-about 3 cups

 

Action shot, beating the chicken!

Action shot, beating the chicken!

Fresh mozzarella and Trader Joe's 21 seasoning salute

Fresh mozzarella and Trader Joe's 21 seasoning salute

Some very hopeful dogs...I usually drop things while I cook

Some very hopeful dogs...I usually drop things while I cook

spinach wilted down
Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

My hubby's plate..chix, pasta, pan sauce

My hubby's plate..chix, pasta, pan sauce

Blurry thumbs up from my handsome hubs!

Blurry thumbs up from my handsome hubs!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    July 23, 2009 5:22 am

    YUM-O! OMG must try this tomorrow! I have all those things in my fridge right now! Thank you again!

  2. Cory permalink
    July 23, 2009 12:56 pm

    OMG Court!!! That looks fantastic!!! I’m not a fan of cherry tomatoes, but that looks sooo good!!! Thanks for the post!

  3. Juanita A permalink
    July 23, 2009 2:44 pm

    Oh wow Courtney it look delicious!!!!

  4. Molly permalink
    July 23, 2009 7:44 pm

    The action chicken beating shot – LMAO!!!

  5. Juanita permalink
    August 13, 2009 1:56 am

    Yes yes yes I just cooked Courtney’s Caprese Chicken MmMmMmmmmmMMm Thank you for sharing your healthy yummy Dishes!!

Leave a Reply

