Skip to content

Freak Outs and Greek Yogurt

July 22, 2009

So I dropped the bike off yesterday to get a tune up, and it won’t be ready until Friday and I’m out of town most of the weekend so I will have to rely on my mountain bike for any training rides this week.  Still have not been able to swim due to weather/pool not open yet, so getting a little worried about that.  FREAKING OUT!!!!!!!!  Ok, got that out of my system a little bit. There are lots of things to freak out about right now, but you know what will make me feel better? Some endorphins! Luckily I have a training session today that I’m sure will kick my booty and get my mind off my troubles for a while.  I also plan to either run or bike after my session and a dog walk is in order, these dogs are sassy!

I’ve had lots of questions about greek yogurt lately, especially since I’ve been gushing about it.  I’m a recent convert to the Greek stuff and I’m disappointed that it is somewhat hard to find in the regular grocery stores, I have to dig for it or run to Trader Joes or Whole Foods.  I really enjoy the Trader Joe’s brand and it is CHEAP.  However, I tried the Fage because it was at the Jewel the other day and it is phenom:

July 22 2009 002July 22 2009 003July 22 2009 004

I buy the fat free version, the entire container is 2 servings but I get around 10 servings or so because I mainly use it as a condiment.

Do you enjoy the tang and texture of full-fat sour cream? (who doesn’t!) Then Greek yogurt is for you.  If you have tried to use fat free sour cream in place of the real thing you may be disappointed in the tast and texture.  Fat free Greek yogurt is thick, creamy and fluffy with a great tang and is a great substitute.  One cup has 120 calories, no fat, no chloresterol, 9 grams of carbs, and 20 grams of protein! However, I use around 2 tablespoons at a time so the calorie reading is much lower.  It gives that little “something” to lunch bowls which consist of chicken, onion, whatever veggies I have on hand and greek yogurt. I also like to slap some on a bowl of soup, heat up some black beans and onions with it on top, put a little bit in a smoothie for protein,  mix it with some spices, salt and pepper and use as a dip for veggies or crackers, etc etc.   TASTY!

I’m off to try and get my life in order and get hydrated before my workout!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

