Skip to content

Reasons I love running on country roads #1

July 16, 2009

I can sing out loud at the top of my lungs! That’s right..I love singing out loud when I’m working out.  You should be able to hold a conversation while working out (might be a breathy conversation, but you should be able to talk).  So I guess if I can sing I’m probably at about the right intensity.

I decided to try and squeeze in a 4 miler after my friend Tammy left because it was starting to look cloudy and windy.  So I headed out on a 4 mile country route.  On the way back around mile 3 I was losing interest in running…was tired, didn’t want to be out there anymore.  Then Madonna’s Like a Prayer (the dance version) came on.  I gave a mental shout out to my friend Molly because we love that song and took off again, singing at the top of my lungs!  Probably keeps the deer and raccoons from running out at me anyways.

I’ll leave you with a visual of my sweet potato fry assembly (I only ended up using 2 of these).  Lunch turned out delicious!

July 16 2009 009  July 16 2009 010

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 10:37 pm

    hey courtney, just wanted to “shout out…” i LOVEyour new blog. keep up the good work on the road AND online. i love following along!!

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      July 17, 2009 12:38 am

      Thanks Emily! I’m glad there are some “fans” out there following along. I think about you speedy Pierre girls when I’m out there trudging along!!

  2. July 16, 2009 10:58 pm

    Do share the sweet potato recipe too, please?

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      July 17, 2009 12:37 am

      Just cut the sweet potatoes up into fry shapes (sometimes I do rounds). I put them in a big ziploc bag with a dash of olive oil and some creole seasoning..shake to coat. Then I cook them for about 30 in a 450 degree oven, I put them on my pizza stone, but a cookie sheet lined with foil would work too.

  3. Christina permalink
    July 17, 2009 4:55 pm

    LOVE the blog… great ideas for workouts and food… and I need them! Singing while Running? I can’t really sing normally… but I’m going to give it a try…I’ll let you know…

  4. July 17, 2009 10:13 pm

    Believe me, I can’t sing either!!!!! That’s why I do it on the country roads. And on the treadmill in the privacy of my basement. Although that pisses my dogs off!!

Leave a Reply

