Skip to content

Run Like the Cops Are Chasing You

May 19, 2010

That was what my favorite sign said during the Cellcom Green Bay Half Marathon this past Sunday!

There were 2 guys holding up the sign along the path and mind you, they were standing pretty close to some police officers who were standing in the intersection to keep up safe.  HA!!

Another good one said:  “your feet hurt so much because you are kicking so much butt!”  Awesome!!

I can’t say enough good things about the 2010 Cellcom Green Bay Marathon.  There were tons of volunteers and spectators that lined the entire course.  Never ever was I alone at any point on the course.  There were water stops every 1.5 miles and people camped out in their front yards to cheer us on as we ran through. 

In one driveway there was a dj with turntables and speakers, one driveway had a full rock band rocking out, people had water for us.  Mind you…this was all at 8 AM on Sunday!

I wanted to give a quick recap before I move on to the next phase in my life and blog.

Headed up to Green Bay from Chicago on Saturday morning and got to Lambeau Field to meet up with my parents and my best friend Molly (here from New York) and her brother Matt to get our packets at the expo.

Fun and photo shoots ensued!

100_3751 100_3753

100_3752 100_3758

We hung out at the expo for a bit and I picked up a 13.1 sticker for my car to really encourage me to get across the finish line!

We also got our “official” race photos taken.  Everyone else was acting like it was their senior picture and being very serious.  Of course we had to take it to the next level and act like idiots. Just look at Matt……OMG!!!!!!!

100_3776

Here is my “running face”

100_3775 

HAHAHAHAHA!!!  We were cracking ourselves up.

We split off and we went back to the hotel to check in and get ready for our evening.  We had a dinner planned at the Brett Favre Steakhouse (the WHOLE Green Bay experience!).

Right across from this sight:

100_3762

Got dressed up and headed to dinner where my family had planned a mini little surprise birthday party for me since we were all together.  So fun!  We had a great dinner and cake.

Plus presents!!  For those that asked it was a Coach purse from my momma!

100_3778 100_3779

100_3786 100_3784

100_3785 100_3797

We went back to hotel and settled in after I got all my stuff ready for the morning:

100_3800

Morning came early!  I put on the shirt that Molly designed for me.  M&C Embassy is a joke going back to when we were 12…and I absolutely LOVE the pink skull she put on the back of it!!!

100_3804 100_3806

Got to the start line and got revved up.  We all made a plan (me, Molly, Matt and a friend of Matt’s Sarah) that we wouldn’t try to stick together…everyone would just run at their own speed.

100_3811 100_3816

Part II coming soon!!!  The race…..

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 9:02 pm

    Your running face cracks me up like no other! he he he

  2. corinne permalink
    May 19, 2010 10:34 pm

    SO MUCH FUN! What an awesome weekend:)

  3. May 19, 2010 11:56 pm

    Looks like a fantastic weekend! When’s your bday? It’s nice that you got to celebrate with family. Thanks for the well wishes on my blog. You were right, you spied an iPad. I’m in love with it already. :)

  4. fattiefatterton permalink
    May 20, 2010 11:50 am

    LOL, I love the signs and your running face was great! Can’t wait to read the rest. :D

  5. jessica permalink
    May 20, 2010 5:41 pm

    sorry we didn’t see you… it WAS an awesome weekend, wasn’t it??? emily and i had to laugh at the cop signs, too. we so wanted to yell, “we are (ok,i used to be) the cops!! and we ARE chasing you!” fun! glad that your experience was good enough that you sound as though you might actually do another one someday… it’s addictive.

  6. May 23, 2010 2:17 pm

    How much do I love those “race” photos take at the expo?! Looks like you guys had a blast!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

