Skip to content

Workout Queen

November 13, 2009

I feel like a workout queen after the last couple of hard days of workouts! 

Wednesday I had training for my new job, then some time in between before I had to go train my client so I was able to get my own workout in.  So nice to work at a gym, can just change and get right to it!

I did 30 hard minutes of intervals on the stepmill and then 20 minutes of running/walking intervals on the treadmill.  Then I hit the assisted pull up machine and did a few sets of pull ups with a few different grips.  One of my goals is to be able to do some unassisted pull ups, the first step in my plan is to work on doing assisted pull ups.  I have a ways to go!! But I’m starting strong.

Training Stats

55 minutes

496 calories

148 average HR

177 high HR

Yesterday I had an early morning workout at Fitness Together with my trainer.  I got there a little early so I could get warmed up.  I walked slow for about 5 minutes, then put the treadmill up to 4.0 mph and a 4.0 incline.  It was a good way to warm up the muscles!

Training Stats

17 minutes

111 calories

125 average HR

149 high HR

Then my trainer Lisa told me we would be doing an “easy” workout focusing on shoulders and abs.  YEAH RIGHT!!! It was easy only in the sense that my heart rate didn’t get as high for as long. 

It was such a fun workout though including medicine ball slams, cable shoulder presses, woodchops, squats with a cable crossover, and pushing a 45 lb weight plate up and down the hallway on my hands and feets…oh my god were my legs and hip flexors burning! That was followed up by some hip raises with my feet on the ball combined with some hamstring curls (feet on the ball, hips up, roll your feet towards your butt) plus some other fun stuff.  My hammies are FEELING it today!

Training Stats

46 minutes

413 calories

147 average HR

173 high HR

I was feeling invigorated after this workout, and it wasn’t even 8 AM so I jumped on the treadmill and stretched out my legs a bit.  Then I put my towel over the screen so I wouldn’t watch the time and just ran.  I was running quite slow, but was going for endurance.

With a great warmup, cooldown and stretch my stats were:

Training Stats

53 minutes

3.76 miles

490 calories

150 average HR

165 max HR

That sums up my workouts the last few days…I am shadowing some floor staff for a few hours today and then plan to get some cardio in before I go and train my client.

Do you have any big fitness related goals in mind right now? I want to be able to do a pull up and will continue to work on that.  I have some other goals as well such as a 10k and another triathlon.

What are your fitness goals? Leave me a comment and let me know!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 3:04 pm

    court, these are awesome workouts! I love how hard you work…these workouts are not for sissy people..those are my favorite kind!! SO awesome! Its so awesome that ou work at the gym too and can just change and go!
    As far as fitness goals go for me right now, since i have hurt my foot, I have had to back off of so much stuff. I am focusing on core work (check out my post) and getting in some sort of activity, anything! For me this instance, my goal is to stay active with my injury and not make it worse!! have a great day sweetie!

  2. DiningAndDishing permalink
    November 13, 2009 4:57 pm

    A fitness goal for me is to take more classes! I need to shake up my routine so I don’t get bored of being stuck in the gym all winter. Good for you with your work-outs – tough stuff!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  3. November 13, 2009 8:19 pm

    You rock! I wish personal trainers in California weren’t so darned expensive (1 session with a “low cost” trainer is around 2x my monthly gym fee!), because it sounds like a great way to learn one’s way with the strength training. I’ll be sticking with my classes for now.

    My fitness goals? Short term, it would be to finish my 10K next weekend and set my “baseline” time for that distance. I might have to walk some of it; it was a last-minute thing and not the focus on my training this year, so I’m okay with that. Hmmm…next year, I’d like to finish a 5K race in less than 30 minutes. I’d also like to get at least a couple more sprint triathlons under my belt. Someday it would be great to be able to do an unassisted pull-up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

