Skip to content

Thinking Outside the (Bread) Box

October 9, 2009

I have been racking my brain to come up with a great recipe to enter into the Foodbuzz Blogger Festival contest using their sponsor Nature’s Pride bread.  I was lucky enough to receive 2 free loaves of bread as part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker program, and my husband has been enjoying sandwiches on their delicious 12 grain bread all week.

I have been trying to think of a creative way to use their product in a recipe so I could win a chance to attend the Foodbuzz Blogger Festival as well as demo my recipe there at the Taste Pavilion for the blogger attendees.

Tonight I started to make my turkey meatloaf.  I usually make my own bread crumbs to mix into the turkey mixture, and that is when inspiration struck!  Not only did I use the Nature’s Pride 12 grain bread to make some delicious homemade bread crumbs, I cannot wait to have a slice of leftover turkey meatloaf between 2 slices of Nature’s Pride whole wheat bread for lunch tomorrow. 

And I present to you the recipe I am submitting for the Foodbuzz Blogger Festival Scholarship:

Courtney’s Spicy Turkey Meatloaf

Ingredients:

1 lb lean ground turkey

1 slice of Nature’s Pride 12 grain bread

1 small handful of oatmeal

1 large egg

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

1 teaspoon diced garlic

1 tablespoon spicy brown mustard

Splash of skim milk

To taste:

crushed red pepper

salt

pepper

McCormicks Spicy Montreal steak seasoning

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  I use a spray of Pam on my loaf pan to keep the turkey loaf from sticking.

In a food processor (I use my handy dandy little mini processor for small jobs like this), combine one slice of Nature’s Pride 12 grain bread that has been ripped into smaller pieces and a small handful of oatmeal and combine until crumbs.

100_2350  100_2351  100_2352

In a large mixing bowl combine the lean ground turkey, large egg, bread crumbs, parmesan, all the seasonings to taste, the garlic and the mustard.  I use a splash of skim milk (just a splash) to keep the turkey meatloaf moist and delicious.

Use your hands (c’mon, get in there!) to mix it all together until combined.  Pat into the loaf pan.

 

100_2353

 

Cook for one hour and serve!

100_2356

Spicy and moist…perfect!  I plan to make a delicious turkey meatloaf sandwich with Nature’s Pride Whole Wheat bread over the weekend with the leftovers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 2:18 pm

    This looks great! I looooove meatloaf and I bet the leftover sandwich will be awesome! Maybe soon I’ll try to conquer a meatloaf! :)

    • courtlove111 permalink*
      October 9, 2009 2:39 pm

      I’m counting down the minutes to lunch so I can whip up the sammy! You can totally do meatloaf. I also like to saute some shredded carrots and mushrooms to add sometimes. Sneak a few more vegs in!

  2. October 9, 2009 4:22 pm

    Some bread suggestions:

    Bread pudding
    Strata
    Pineapple Bread Casserole

    These recipes encompass the bread, fruits and vegetables, meat and dairy group!

    Love, Mom

  3. October 9, 2009 4:52 pm

    That’s a great idea – maybe they can turn them into mini meatballs for easy service? They did say something about having to serve a lot of people.

    I couldn’t find that bread in my area yet :(

    Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

